The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
Ardeo
Photo : Sumiyo Ida

Ardeo Quartet

Carole Petitdemange, 1st violin
Olivia Hughes, 2nd violin
Caroline Donin, viola
Joëlle Martinez, cello

The Ardeo Quartet is made up of young French musicians who met at the Paris Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de Danse, in M. Hentz’s and D. Hovora’s String Quartet class. During their studies these musicians took part in several masterclasses, including those given by D. Poppen, P. Frankl from the Fine Arts Quartet, the Talich Quartet, M. Skampa, F. Salque, A. Meunier, A. Moccia.

During the school year 2004-2005, the Quartet benefitted from a scholarship by the Sacyr company to follow the class taught by Rainer Schmidt, from the Hagen Quartet, at the Madrid Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia.

Since September 2005 the musicians of the Quartet have taken part in the Proquartet training program, which has allowed them to work with such artists as W. Levin and G. Pichler. They also follow the masterclasses given by the Hagen Quartet at the Salzburg Mozarteum and by P.-L. Aimard at the Paris Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de Danse.

In September 2004, the Ardeo Quartet was awarded a Second Prize and two Special Prizes at the Shostakovich International String Quartet Contest in Moscow.

In May 2005, it won the FNAPEC First Prize, awarded by the Polignac Foundation, and in June it went on to win the 2nd Prize and (by an unanimous vote) the International Press Award at the Bordeaux International String Quartet Contest.

The Quartet also won its participation in the “Déclic” program, which was launched by Cultures France in association with Radio France and Mécénat Musical Société Générale. Since 2005, the Ardeo Quartet enjoys the support of Mécénat Musical Société Générale for its activities.

The Quartet has been invited to various festivals: Christmas at the Kremlin (Moscow), as a soloist accompanied by the Kremlin Orchestra (under the direction of Misha Rachlevsky), Santander (Spain), Kuhmo (Finland), the Épernay Musiques d’Été (France), as well as the Comminges, Entrecasteaux, Gigean festivals among others. It frequently plays with renowned artists such as C. Richter, M. Arrignon, A. Meunier, S. Gazeau, J.-D. Castellon, F. Sauzeau, G. Letang...

Joëlle Martinez plays a Charles Jacquot instrument from 1846, on loan from the Zilber Foundation. The Ardeo Quartet is dressed by stylist Corinne Sarrut.

Website : http://www.quatuorardeo.com
Contact : Hélène Paillette [hpaillette@ponticello.fr]

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Ardeo Photo : Sumiyo Ida

Le quatuor Ardeo

Carole Petitdemange, 1er violon
Olivia Hughes, 2e violon
Caroline Donin, alto
Joëlle Martinez, violoncelle

Jeune quatuor à cordes français, Ardeo s’est constitué au sein du Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de Danse de Paris dans la classe de quatuor à cordes de M. Hentz et D. Hovora. Il bénéficie pendant ses études entre autres des masterclasses de D. Poppen, P. Frankl du Fine Arts Quartet, du Quatuor Talich, de M. Skampa, F. Salque, A. Meunier, A. Moccia.

Pour l’année universitaire 2004-2005, il obtient une bourse octroyée par l’entreprise Sacyr pour suivre l’enseignement de Rainer Schmidt (Quatuor Hagen) à l’Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia de Madrid.

Depuis septembre 2005, le quatuor fait partie du programme de formation Proquartet, grâce auquel il a pu travailler avec des artistes tels que W. Levin et G. Pichler. Parallèlement, il suit les masterclasses du Quatuor Hagen au Mozarteum de Salzbourg et de P.-L. Aimard au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de Danse de Paris.

En septembre 2004, le Quatuor Ardeo remporte un 2e prix et deux prix spéciaux au Concours International de Quatuor à Cordes Chostakovitch à Moscou.

Il remporte en mai 2005 le premier prix de la FNAPEC, décerné par la Fondation Polignac, et en juin, on lui attribue le 2e prix ainsi que le prix de la presse internationale à l’unanimité au Concours International de Quatuor à Cordes de Bordeaux.

Le quatuor est lauréat du programme « Déclic » initié par Cultures France en partenariat avec Radio France et Mécénat Musical Société Générale. Depuis 2005, le quatuor Ardeo est soutenu dans ses activités par Mécénat Musical Société Générale.

Le quatuor est invité dans différents festivals : Noël au Kremlin (Moscou) en soliste accompagné par l’orchestre du Kremlin (dir. Misha Rachlevsky), Santander (Espagne), Kuhmo (Finlande), Musiques d’Été d’Épernay, ainsi que les festivals du Comminges, d’Entrecasteaux, de Gigean…

Il joue régulièrement avec des artistes de renom : C. Richter, M. Arrignon, A. Meunier, S. Gazeau, J.-D. Castellon, F. Sauzeau, G. Letang…

Joëlle Martinez joue un instrument de Charles Jacquot (1846), prêté par la Fondation Zilber. Le Quatuor Ardeo est habillé par la styliste Corinne Sarrut.

Site : http://www.quatuorardeo.com
Contact : Hélène Paillette [hpaillette@ponticello.fr]