The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
Muresanu
Photo : © Glamour Shots

Irina Muresanu

Irina Muresanu was born in Bucharest, Romania and since 1994 has moved to the city of Boston in the United States, which is now her permanent residence. Her degrees include a Master of Music from the University of Illinois, an Artist Diploma and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the New England Conservatory in Boston; she was a pupil of Stefan Gheorghiu in Bucharest and the French violinist Michele Auclair in Boston.

Ms. Muresanu’s list of international prizes and awards include the Montreal International Violin Competition (Canada), the Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition (Belgium), the UNISA International String Competition (South Africa), the Washington International String Competition (USA), the “George Enescu” International Violin Competition (Romania), and the “Tibor Varga” International Competition (Switzerland). She is the winner of the Pro Musicis International Award, as well as the Presser Music Award for Young Talents and the Arthur Foote Award from the Harvard Musical Association.

Irina Muresanu’s recent engagements as soloist include concerts with the Boston Pops, the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (Geneva), the Syracuse Symphony, the Metropolitan Orchestra (Montreal), the Transvaal Philharmonic (Pretoria), the Orchestre de la Radio Flamande (Brussels), the Boston Phiharmonic, the Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra (Boston), the Romanian National Radio Orchestra, and the Miami Symphony Orchestra among others. She has appeared in recitals at such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall in New York, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels and the Hong Kong Performing Arts Centre among others. She often can be heard on Boston’s WGBH and other NPR radio stations.

An active chamber musician, Ms. Muresanu has appeared in such festivals and venues as Bargemusic in New York, the Rockport Festival in Massachusetts, the Bay Chambers concert series, the Bowdoin Festival in Maine, the Strings in the Mountains festival in Colorado, the Maui Chamber Music Festival in Hawaii, the Reizend Music festival in the Netherlands, the Festival van de Leie in Belgium, and the Rencontres des Musiciennes festival in France.

Ms. Muresanu’s discography includes the world premiere recording of Marion Bauer's Sonata for Violin and Piano (with pianist Virginia Eskin) on Albany Records and a CD featuring the chamber works of Erich Korngold released by the VPRO Radio Amsterdam. In June 2005 she received the Copland Fund Recording Grant for the recording of Willam Bolcom’s complete violin and piano sonatas on the Centaur label, along with pianist Michael Lewin. Ms. Muresanu has been granted a Special Commendation award for her recording of Schoenberg's Fantasy for violin and piano at the 3rd International Vienna Modern Masters Performers Recording Competition.

Irina Muresanu currently serves on both the faculties of the Boston Conservatory and the Music Department at MIT. Irina Muresanu plays an 1856 Joseph Rocca violin and uses a Charles Peccat bow, courtesy of Mr. Mark Ptashne.

Website : http://www.irinamuresanu.com/

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Muresanu
Photo : © Glamour Shots

Irina Muresanu

Irina Muresanu est née en Roumanie, à Bucarest et s’est installée à Boston depuis 1994. Titulaire, entre autres, d’un Master de musique de l’Université de l’Illinois et d’un Artist Diploma et d’un doctorat en arts musicaux du Conservatoire de la Nouvelle Angleterre à Boston, elle fut l’élève de Stefan Gheorghiu à Bucarest et de la violoniste française Michèle Auclair à Boston.

Parmi ses prix et récompenses internationaux, on compte le Concours international de violon de Montréal, le Concours Reine Elisabeth de Belgique, l’UNISA International String Competition (Afrique du Sud), la Washington International String Competition (USA), le Concours de violon international « George Enesco » (Roumanie), le Concours international « Tibor Varga » (Suisse) ainsi que le Presser Music Award pour les Jeunes Talents et le Arthur Foote Award de l’Association Musicale de Harvard.

Irina Muresanu s’est produite recémment en soliste avec les Boston Pops, l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (Genève), le Symphonique de Syracuse, l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, le Philharmonique du Transvaal (Pretoria), l’Orchestre de la Radio Flamande (Bruxelles), le Philharmonique de Boston, l’Orchestre de Chambre Pro Arte (Boston), l’Orchestre de la Radio Nationale roumaine et l’Orchestre Symphonique de Miami entre autres. Elle a joué en récital dans des salles aussi prestigieuses que le Carnegie Hall à New York, le Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles et le Hong Kong Performing Arts Centre parmi d’autres. On peut souvent l’écouter sur la fréquence WGBH de Boston et sur d’autres stations de radio de NPR (National Public Radio).

Très active dans le domaine de la musique de chambre, Mme Muresanu a participé au festival Bargemusic à New York, à celui de Rockport dans le Massachusetts, à la saison de concerts de Bay Chambers ainsi qu’au Festival de Bowdoin dans le Maine, au Festival Strings in the Mountains dans le Colorado, au Festival de Musique de Chambre de Maui à Hawaïi, au Festival de Musique Reizend aux Pays-Bas, au Festival van de Leie en Belgique et aux Rencontres de Musiciennes en France.

Dans la discographie de Mme Muresanu figurent l’enregistrement en première mondiale de la Sonate pour violon et piano de Marion Bauer (avec la pianiste Virginia Eskin) pour Albany Records et un disque de musique de chambre du compositeur Erich Komgold publié par la Radio VPRO d’Amsterdam. En juin 2005 elle a reçu le Copland Fund Recording Grant, bourse qui lui a permis d’enregistrer l’intégrale des sonates pour violon et piano de Willam Bolcom pour le label Centaur, en compagnie du pianiste Michael Lewin. Mme Muresanu a reçu une « Mention spéciale » pour son enregistrement de la Fantasie pour violon et piano de Schoenberg au 3e Concours international d’enregistrements des interprètes des maîtres contemporains à Vienne.

Irina Muresanu enseigne actuellement à la fois au Conservatoire de Boston et au département de musique du MIT. Irina Muresanu joue un violon Joseph Rocca de 1856 assorti d’un archet Charles Peccat, avec la gracieuse permission de M. Mark Ptashne.

Site : http://www.irinamuresanu.com/