The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
Chopin

Chopin

26 Preludes

Lydia Jardon, piano


play
pause
order
1.
24 Preludes op. 28
2.
Prelude opus 45 in C sharp minor
3.
Prelude without opus in A flat major

Recorded on 7 and 8 Avril 1998

AR RE-SE 2001-2

The Preludes by Chopin (1836-1839)

"I confess I do not really understand the title Chopin chose to give these short pieces: Preludes, Preludes to what?", wondered André Gide in his famous Notes on Chopin. The author of Preludes was certainly not the first to ask this question. Chopin has at all times exerted a singular fascination on the thoughts and the pen of writers. But it is not certain that rational questions on this subject should expect orderly answers. After all, a title is just a title, an indication, a direction, a symbol rather than a literal definition. "This is not a pipe", Magritte established this conclusively.

So, therefore, the Preludes, these twenty-four purest of pieces by this composer, rightly described by Wanda Landowska as "a Couperin tinged with romanticism". Concise in their outline, vehement in their emotion, the Preludes open on to themselves alone, moments of extreme intensity, brief snapshots of a stale of mind. Why look for another explanation? After all, what else is romanticism but the accepted exaltation of vital, exemplary emotion, both universal and eternal?

One of the characteristics of the Preludes is that they have given rise to all sorts of digressions, one of their most illustrious interpreters going so far as to invest each of them with a title. Clearly a useless exercise. Nobody will deny that Chopin completed the majority of these pieces in Majorca, during one of the frequent passionate interludes in his love life, and that this emotional turbulence affected the composer. But the strength of Chopin's opposition to the very concept of figurative music should prevent us from detecting in these pages the influence of the sinister Charterhouse at Valdemosa where lie stayed with George Sand, who in this connection wrote: "He protested with all his strength against the puerility of these imitations in sound".

Music for its own sake, homage to Bach's Well-tempered Clavier, a source of nourishment for Chopin, statements presented as etudes or nocturnes, as berceuses or mazurkas, as varied in length as daydreams, thirty seconds or four minutes. Gide might speak of their "frightening depth" but Schumann's expert ear noted that the composer had given of himself as never before, "recognizable even in the pauses and the silences". And the opinion of Liszt: "Admirable in their diversity, the work and scholarship which has gone into them can only be appreciated by painstaking examination. Everything seems fresh, flowing, a sudden inspiration".

Are the Preludes ruled by a sign of water? It appears that Chopin dreamed of raindrops in the Balearics gradually engulfing him. Hence, perhaps, this fluid outpouring, this lingering resonance. Nevertheless, the freedom of their composition enables one to adopt them unhesitatingly, without commentary. They also belong to those who travel light.

Olivier Barrot
Translation: Mirella Lamolie

The Press covers it !

diapason
« These Preludes express a strong personality... Each testifies to very careful work on detail, a clear sense of shape and line and a musical conception that is both warm and lively: the unisson of the 1st, the concealed voice of the 14th, the fifths in the central section of the 15th, the knell in the 17th, are details not open to misinterpretation...
... With her exquisite style Lydia Jardon always holds the attention, and amply avoids that unforgivable hazard for Chopin: indifference. »

Décembre 98, Étienne Moreau

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Chopin

Chopin

26 Preludes

Lydia Jardon, piano


play
pause
commande
1.
24 Préludes op. 28
2.
Prélude opus 45 en C sharp minor
3.
Prélude sans opus en A flat major

Enregistrement les 7 et 8 Avril 1998

AR RE-SE 2001-2

Les Préludes de Chopin (1836-1839)

"J'avoue que je ne comprends pas bien le titre qu'il a plu à Chopin de donner à ces courts morceaux : Préludes. Préludes à quoi ?", se demande André Gide dans ses fameuses Notes sur Chopin. L'auteur de Préludes n'était certes pas le premier à poser cette question, Chopin, de tout temps, ayant singulièrement sollicité la plume et la réflexion des écrivains. Mais il n'est pas assuré qu'en cette matière, aux interrogations rationnelles doivent correspondre des réponses ordonnées. Après tout, un titre n'est qu'un titre, une indication, une orientation, un symbole même davantage qu'une définition littérale. "Ceci n'est pas une pipe", Magritte l'a établi de façon définitive.

Ores donc, les Préludes, ces vingt-quatre pièces les plus dépouillées de leur auteur, que Wanda Landowska pouvait à bon droit décrire comme "un Couperin teinté de romantisme". Concision dans l'esquisse, véhémence dans l'émotion : les Préludes n'ouvrent sur rien d'autre que sur eux-mêmes, moments extrêmes dans leur intensité, instantanés laconiques d'un état d'âme. Pourquoi en rechercher une autre explication ? Après tout, qu'est-ce que le romantisme, sinon l'exaltation acceptée d'une émotion vitale et exemplaire, universelle aussi bien qu'éternelle ?

C'est l'une des caractéristiques des Préludes que d'avoir donné lieu à toutes sortes de vaticinations, l'un de leurs plus illustres interprètes allait même jusqu'à les affubler chacun d'un titre. Vain exercice, évidemment. Que Chopin en ait achevé la plus grande partie à Majorque, pendant l'une des fréquentes périodes exaltées de sa vie amoureuse, et que ces tumultes intimes en aient affecté le compositeur, nul n'en disconviendra. Mais Chopin a suffisamment combattu l'idée même d'une musique figurative pour qu'on ne décèle pas dans ces pages l'influence de la sinistre chartreuse de Valdemosa, où il séjournait en compagnie de George Sand qui écrira à propos : "Il protestait de toutes ses forces contre la puérilité de ces imitations pour l'oreille".

La musique pour elle-même, hommage au Clavier bien tempéré de Bach dont Chopin se nourrit, assertions déclinées comme en études ou en nocturnes, en berceuses ou en mazurkas, d'une durée aussi variée que celle des songes éveillés, trente secondes, quatre minutes. Gide a pu parler de leur "épouvantable profondeur", mais Schumann constatait en expert que le compositeur s'y donnait comme jamais, "reconnaissable jusque dans les pauses et les silences". Et Liszt : "Admirables par leur diversité, le travail et le savoir qui s'y trouvent ne sont appréciables qu'en un scrupuleux examen. Tout semble de premier jet, d'élan, de soudaine venue".

Les Préludes sous un signe d'eau ? Chopin voyait en rêve, paraît-il, les gouttes de pluie baléare peu à peu le recouvrir. D'où peut-être cette fluidité diluvienne, cette résonance suspendue. Pourtant la liberté de leur composition permet de se les approprier sans glose, sans précaution. Ils appartiennent aussi au voyageur sans bagage.

Olivier Barrot

La presse en parle !

diapason
« Ces préludes dénotent une personnalité très affirmée... Chacun témoigne d'un travail du détail très soigné, d'un sens évident du galbe et de la ligne et d'une conception musicale à la fois chaleureuse et vivante : l'unisson du 1er, la voix masquée du 14e, les quintes de la partie centrale du 15e, le glas du 17e sont des détails qui ne trompent pas... ... Par son style recherché, Lydia Jardon maintient toujours l'attention et évite largement l'écueil le plus impardonnable dans Chopin : l'indifférence. »

Décembre 98, Étienne Moreau