The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
BBRawsthorne

Granados

Goyescas

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
order

Goyescas

1.
Los requiebros
2.
Coloquio en la reja
3.
Fandango de candil
4.
Quejas o la Maja y el Ruiseñor
5.
El Amor y la Muerte
6.
Epilogo, Serenata del Espectro

Seis Piezas Sobre

Cantos Populares Españoles
Prelude
7.
Añoranza
8.
Ecos de la Parranda
9.
Vascongada
10.
Marcha oriental
11.
Zambra
12.
Zapateado

Recorded on 5 and 6 February 1995 at Neumarkt/Opt., Reitstadel
I.L.D. 642199

AR RE-SE 2003-5

Goyescas by Enrique Granados

When a musical work such as the Goyescas is so explicitly related to painting, one is tempted to look before listening. However, the scenes corresponding to the six Goyescas by Granados are not to be found in Goya's paintings. In fact, only one of the Goyescas directly relates to a specific painting: The famous "Pelele" (The Puppet), which Granados used as a model for the opera version later written in New York, as a complement to the suite. For this version the theatrical considerations imposed a dialogue between music and scenery and, hence, also with the painting.

Goyescas are often considered to be inspired by the frescos of the Chapel of San Antonio de la Florida, painted in Madrid in 1797. However, a very lively imagination would be necessary to see the central theme of Goyescas in this holy episode. In fact, around this scene, Goya has arranged a crowd of little characters painted in trompe-l'oeil fashion who are watching the scene from their balconies. They are the people of Madrid who, at the sight of the miracle, demonstrate a wide range of feelings: astonishment, incredulity, devotion, in-difference, fear or hate.

Goyescas might also refer to the famous paintings used as tapestry designs, representing three individual periods; the first two being of the artist's youth, when his inspiration was still fuit of bright cheer and colors, the last representing a much later, darker period in the artist's life. Here again, one could hardly find a link between Granados and these scenes from an increasingly unreal world.

The inspiration for the Goyescas is, therefore, not to be found in Goya's pictures but rather in the common world view shared by the two artists. Granados views his surroundings as Goya would have, only using the tools of a musician in full artistic independence. This view causes him to choose brief, possibly anecdotal scenes which reflect his personal vision of an already ancient Spain -still alive, however, through its spirit and musical forms. These intimate sketches might also recall other places as well, such as Greuze's 18th-century France or Hogarth's England or even unremarkable scenes which German romanticism set to music in its "Lieder".

The sub-title of Goyescas, "Los Majos enamorados" underlines this romantic theme. One encounters very few couples in Goya's works, the sensuality of which is most discreet in comparison to, for instance, the works of 18th-century France. Goya's Spain is still ruled by the rigid traditions inherited from Charles V and his son, Philip II, whereas Granados could address themes which were forbidden during the painter's time. "Los Majos enamorados" should therefore not to be considered an illustration of Goya's works but rather as an original theme treated in Goya's style.

Granados is not a musician oriented to the past ; his inspiration and style show him to be a man of the late 19th or even the early 20th century. Goyescas, written in 1911, carry romantic and post-romantic traits. Like Albeniz, Granados also studied in Europe and composed in Paris, where he became acquainted with Debussy and Ravel.

The Spanish musical style of the last century reflects a search for the picturesque, for colors and strong, contrasting emotions - a fashionable influence which was difficult for an artist of that time to avoid. Here one thinks of composers such as Bizet, Chabrier or Lalo, just to speak of the French school. The Spanish school was, nevertheless, on the decline at that time, more and more contented to simply parody the Italian styles. In the second half of the century traditions were rediscovered by a few pioneers, particularly in the Manifest of 1891 by the Catalan Pedrell. This movement drew its inspiration both from folklore and academic musical studies. Pedrell's works considerably influenced Albeniz, Fall and Granados, who were all at least partly Catalan, as was Pedrell.

While the European's thoughts of Spain traditionally center around Andalusia, the real Spain of Enrique Granados lies elsewhere. This music is less accessible because its sources are grounded in Spanish reality and is therefore less well known outside the Hispanic world. Granados has the ability to express this reality, to fill a work with true human experience, thus complementing the cosmopolitanism of an Albeniz rather than opposing it.

Energy, causticity, grace, sensuality, drama and passion, together with reserve and dignity, are the essential features of Goyescas. Granados proves himself to be a great romanticist in his incorporation of these themes. There are few traces of folklore: Spain only appears through certain forms and rhythms and remains largely hidden to all but those who know it well. Here Granados portrays his very personal lyricism.

The composer himself comments:
"I want to express a personal note in the Goyescas, a mixture of bitterness and grace, whereby none of these movements should prevail through over-inventiveness. Rhythm and color, typical Spanish life in which love and passion occur as suddenly as drama and tragedy - a palette of emotions therefore, such as appear in Goya's works."

Let us now listen to our lovers...

"Los Requiebros"is a gallant and ornate piece that evokes the mannered music of the 18th century. It is based on a Jota, an Aragonian dance of northern Spain - the opposing pole to Andalusia. It breathes improvisation (at which Granados was a master) and yet the changes in the rhythms and colors surround the two themes, one mannered, the other more playful, with a subtle mood.

"Coloquio en la reja" presents a darker atmosphere. While the left hand imitates a guitar, the right plays a song - at once fiery and resigned. We are to learn no more of the background of this song; whether it speaks of a prisoner separated from his love or of a girl being chaperoned by her duenna. The result is the same: a mood of separation.

"Fandango de candil"is a swaying dance of Andalusian origin. Granados uses folkloristic rhythms which, in their harshness and insistence, recall the sounds of guitars and castanets. In the half-shadow of candlelight, a little aside from the dancers, confessions of love and ardent glances are exchanged.

"Quejas o la Maja y el Ruiseñor"is certainly one of the most famous pieces of the Goyescas and one of the composer's most personal and imaginative inspirations. We hear the lament of the maid who has lost her nightingale which merrily answers her at the end of the piece. Behind this story, the transparent composition reveals a fervor of love which, as Granados himself said, is the jealousy of a woman rather than the sorrow of a widow.

"El Amor y la Muerte" is a tragic and throbbing ballad -- "happiness amidst pain" -- as it is suggested in the score. Happy memories, marked by the return of themes from the previous pieces, accompany the lovers' last moments together.

In Spain, life and death are realities more closely related to one another than anywhere else. The last piece, "Serenata del Espectro", in the form of an epilogue, portrays the return of the lover who was killed in a duel and yearns to see his love once more, mouming the love that has died. This faded love disappears quickly in the scratchy tones of a deliberately emotionless guitar.

The cycle is complete : burgeoning love, enforced separation, reunion, jealousy, death, morning. A life.

The Goyescas are supplemented on this CD in a very natural way by six pieces of Spanish folk songs. These pieces center around scenes of daily life in the broadest sense. Through their renunciation these pieces recall, through brilliant, colorful rhythms, a more spontaneous, more exciting Spain, undoubtedly formed by oriental influences which were present in the south for so long. It is the Spain of the fiesta, of the night.

"Añoranza" follows the "Prelude". In the distance the fiesta attracts the lonely : these are the "Ecos de la Parranda", perhaps a country wedding. In coming nearer, one finds the dancers in the "Vascongada". The night becomes darker and, in the rhythm of the "Marcha oriental", the noise increases, surrounding one's fears. This is the "Zambra" which transforms itself into an even louder dance, the "Zapateado", where everyone stamps to the rhythm. Suddenly the night completely obscures this luckless merriment : there will be no new day dawning.

At the beginning of the 20th century Spain was involved in a search for its past greatness. Some of its intellectuals and artists searched for a hopeful sign as well as a ways and means of rediscovering the innermost being of their people. In spite of appearances, this was not a return to the past but rather a setting out into the future which, as we know today, was to develop dramatically over a long period of time. Granados encountered these ideas of his time with love and understanding.

Lydia Jardon

The Press covers it !

lemondedelamusique
choc
« This disk, originally recorded in 1995 and now reissued in a new presentation, went relatively unnoticed on its first appearance. Yet the pianist, Lydia Jardon, laureate of the Fondation Cziffra and the Concours Milosz Magin, gives an ardent interpretation of the six Goyescas and the Six pieces based on Spanish folk songs, composed by Granados around 1910. Beneath her fingers, the flamboyant colours and the delicately etched melodic design take on striking relief (Fandango de candil). With consummate sensual and dramatic art, she succeeds in releasing the full Spanish vigour of these works (Zapateado). Her dedication in no way hinders her capacity to respect the rhythmic vigour (Epilogo, Serenata del espectro) and the range of nuances intended by the composer (Los requiebros, El Amor y la Muerte). A somewhat analytical recording gives immediacy and clarity to the sound without prejudicing the soloist's musical intentions. All the varied conditions of the human comedy found in Goya's canvases take on a dimension that is caustic and passionate by turns, but with the stylistic restraint learned from her teachers Milosz Magin and Hüseyin Sermet. Lydia Jardon is of Catalan extraction, speaks the language of Granados and is perfectly at ease in the very personal lyricism of this world. She does not attempt to imitate the legendary Goyescas of Larocha, nor the austerity of Ciccolini, the excessive imagination of Luisada, the restraint of Del Pueyo or the impressionist poetry of Achucarro in these same pieces. Her mercurial energy is always tempered by a nobility of tone that refuses to descend into pathos and so renders this disk captivating. »

Janvier 2001, Michel Le Naour

classica
« This disk, recorded in 1995, has only been released now, as a follow-up to the pianist’s excellent interpretation of Rachmaninoff’s Second Sonata. It is a pleasure to hear once again the supple, beautiful playing in a repertory dominated by male performers, with the obvious exception of Alicia de Larrocha. And that is indeed who comes to mind when listening to Lydia Jardon, whose Goyescas evoke a comparable array of fragrances. Each piece is approached in a different climate, sometimes more in the spirit of Fauré than that of a pure, futile recounting of Spanish folklore. Quejas o la Maja y el Ruiseñor balances lyricism and confidence with the narration of the epilogue, and the Serenata del Espectro is perfectly controlled. The six (or seven, counting the prelude) Popular Spanish Song Pieces are an intelligent complement to the refinement of the Goyescas. The dances are at once rustic, brilliant and unaffected, interpreted as is, with moreover a quality of recording that brings out their best, so they show two aspects of Granados’ music, which is sometimes mistakenly seen as an epigone of Albeniz. Perhaps Lydia Jardon will continue to explore Spanish music, and maybe even that of South America. The repertory suits her admirably. »

Décembre 2000, Stéphane Friédérich

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
BBRawsthorne

Granados

Goyescas

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
commande

Goyescas

1.
Los requiebros
2.
Coloquio en la reja
3.
Fandango de candil
4.
Quejas o la Maja y el Ruiseñor
5.
El Amor y la Muerte
6.
Epilogo, Serenata del Espectro

Seis Piezas Sobre

Cantos Populares Españoles
Prelude
7.
Añoranza
8.
Ecos de la Parranda
9.
Vascongada
10.
Marcha oriental
11.
Zambra
12.
Zapateado

Enregistré les 5 et 6 Février 1995 à Neumarkt/Opt., Reitstadel
I.L.D. 642199

AR RE-SE 2003-5

Goyescas d'Enrique Granados

Lorsqu'une œuvre musicale fait aussi explicitement référence à la peinture que les Goyescas, il est tentant de vouloir regarder avant d'écouter. Pourtant, c'est en vain que l'on cherchera chez Goya les scènes correspondant aux six Goyescas de Granados. En réalité, seule une des Goyescas se réfère à un tableau : il s'agit du célèbre El Pelele, le Mannequin, que Granados a mis en musique pour la version d'opéra produite plus tard à New York et qui ne fait pas partie de la suite originelle. Pour cette version, les besoins de la scène et du décor ont suscité un dialogue avec la peinture.

On associe souvent les Goyescas aux fresques de la Chapelle de San Antonio de la Florida, peintes à Madrid en 1797. Il faudrait une puissante imagination pour voir dans cet épisode hagiographique le thème des Goyescas.
Autour de cette scène, Goya a disposé une foule de spectateurs, peints en trompe-l'œil, assistant à la scène de leur balcon. Ce sont les Madrilènes d'alors, personnages évoquant toutes les réactions que peut susciter ce miracle: surprise, incrédulité, dévotion, indifférence, crainte ou haine.

Les Goyescas pourraient aussi bien se rattacher à d'autres parties de l'œuvre de Goya et, en particulier, aux célèbres tableaux qui ont servi de cartons pour les tapisseries royales. Ces cartons ne forment pas un ensemble unique mais trois séries assez éloignées les unes des autres, deux dans la première partie de la vie du peintre, alors que son inspiration était souriante et colorée, la dernière bien plus tard quand son univers s'était déjà assombri. Là encore, il n'y a guère de lien entre Granados et ces scènes d'une vie quotidienne de moins en moins réelle et de plus en plus imaginaire.

Ce n'est donc pas dans le spectacle qu'il faut chercher l'inspiration des Goyescas mais bien plutôt dans le regard. Granados ne s'inspire pas de l'oeuvre mais de la vision du peintre : comme aurait pu le faire Goya, Granados scrute le monde qui l'entoure mais le fait avec ses outils de musicien, en toute indépendance artistique. C'est ce regard qui l'amène à choisir des scènes furtives, peut-être anecdotiques : elles traduisent sa vision personnelle d'une Espagne déjà ancienne mais toujours présente par son esprit et ses formes musicales. Ce sont souvent des scènes de genre, voire intimistes, qui rappellent d'autres lieux : le XVIIIe Siècle d'un Greuze en France ou d'un Hogarth en Angleterre, ou même les scènes apparemment mineures que le Romantisme allemand se plaisait à poétiser et qui font l'univers du lied.

Le sous-titre des Goyescas, "Los Majos enamorados", le prouve encore : très peu de couples dans l'œuvre de Goya, dont la sensualité est bien discrète à côté de ce qui se passe, par exemple, en France à cette époque. Mais l'Espagne de Goya est encore fort rigide dans les traditions héritées du Siècle d'Or, de Charles Quint et de son fils Philippe II. Granados, au contraire, peut aborder des thèmes qui étaient interdits au peintre. Il faut donc bien comprendre "Los Majos enamorados" non comme une illustration de l'œuvre du peintre, mais bien comme un sujet original traité dans l'esprit de Goya et de son époque.

Granados n'est pas pour autant un musicien tourné vers le passé : dans son inspiration comme dans son style, c'est un homme de la fin du XIXe Siècle et même du début du XXe. Les Goyescas sont publiées en 1911 et portent la marque du Romantisme et du Post-romantisme. Granados, comme Albeniz, a étudié en Europe et travaillé à Paris où il a connu Debussy et Ravel.

L'hispanisme est à la mode dans la musique du siècle dernier. C'est la recherche du pittoresque, des couleurs, des sensations fortes et contrastées, et c'est le thème devenu presque incontournable de bien des compositeurs. On pense évidemment à Bizet, Chabrier ou Lalo pour ne parler que de l'Ecole française. Pourtant,la musique espagnole connaît un déclin et se contente de parodier l'Italie. A l'initiative de quelques pionniers, l'Espagne redécouvre sa tradition dans la seconde moitié du siècle, en particulier avec le Manifeste du catalan Pedrell, publié en 1891. Ce mouvement puise autant dans le folklore que dans la musique savante. Les travaux de Pedrell auront une influence décisive sur Albeniz, Falla ou Granados, catalans comme lui à des degrés divers.

C'est surtout l'Andalousie qui nourrit l'imaginaire européen, et parfois avec un certain manque d'authenticité. A l'écart des apparences que suscitent ces musiques peu enracinées, l'Espagne de Granados est ailleurs. Plus difficile d'accès car puisant à des sources plus authentiques, cette musique n'a pas eu la même notoriété que les autres en dehors du monde hispanique. En complément plutôt qu'en opposition au cosmopolitisme d'Albeniz, Granados sait exprimer les réalités vécues qui animent une œuvre d'un caractère authentiquement humain.

Énergie, causticité, grâce, sensualité, drame, passion, mais aussi retenue et dignité sont les traits qui caractérisent l'atmosphère des Goyescas. Granados les assemble dans son puissant romantisme. Peu de traces de folklore : l'Espagne ne transparaît que par les tournures et les rythmes mais reste secrète, comme réservée à ceux qui la connaissent intérieurement. Granados fait preuve ici d'un lyrisme très personnel.

Écoutons l'auteur :
"Je voudrais donner dans les Goyescas une note personnelle, un mélange d'amertume et de grâce, et je désirerais qu'aucune de ces phrases ne l'emportât sur l'autre dans une atmosphère de poésie raffinée... Le rythme, la couleur et la vie nettement espagnole, la note de sentiment aussi soudainement amoureuse et passionnée que dramatique et tragique, ainsi qu'elle apparaît dans toute l'œuvre de Goya."

Écoutons maintenant nos amoureux...

"Los Requiebros"est une pièce galante, très ornée, qui évoque la musique précieuse du XVIIIe Siècle. La base en est une jota, cette danse aragonaise du nord de l'Espagne, à l'opposé donc de l'inévitable Andalousie. Tout respire l'improvisation (et Granados était un brillant improvisateur) et pourtant les changements de rythme et d'atmosphère dégagent une ambiance subtile autour des deux thèmes, l'un précieux, l'autre plus enjoué.

"Coloquio en la reja" apparaît plus sombre. La main gauche imite la guitare tandis que la droite exprime un chant tout à la fois fougueux et résigné. Nous n'en saurons pas plus des circonstances de ce duo. S'agit-il d'un prisonnier séparé de sa bien-aimée ou d'une fille que surveille de loin sa duègne ? Le résultat n'est guère différent : c'est le chant de la séparation.

"Fandango de candil"est une danse d'origine andalouse au déhanchement oscillant. Granados puise dans les rythmes populaires, âpres et obstinés, où l'on devine les sonorités des guitares et des castagnettes. Dans l'obscurité de la chandelle, un peu à l'écart des danseurs, les aveux s'échangent et les regards s'embrasent.

"Quejas o la Maja y el Ruiseñor"constitue la pièce la plus célèbre des Goyescas, et l'une des pages les plus personnelles et imaginatives du compositeur. Nous écoutons la complainte de la jeune fille profondément peinée d'avoir perdu son rossignol : celui-ci lui répondra avec bonheur à la fin de la pièce. Mais, derrière l'anecdote, c'est bien la ferveur amoureuse qui s'exprime dans l'écriture diaphane de ce mouvement : comme l'indique Granados lui-même, c'est la jalousie d'une femme et non la tristesse d'une veuve.

"El Amor y la Muerte"est une ballade désespérée et lancinante, "comme du bonheur dans la douleur" indique la partition. Les souvenirs heureux, marqués par le retour de certaines phrases musicales des morceaux précédents, accompagnent les derniers instants que les amants passent ensemble.

Mais, en Espagne, vie et mort ne sont pas des réalités aussi tranchées qu'ailleurs. Le dernier morceau, en forme d'épilogue, "Serenata del Espectro" marque le retour du galant tué en duel qui revient voir sa belle, et évoque l'amour défunt. Mas cet amour a perdu tout charme et s'évanouit bien vite dans les grincements d'une guitare volontairement inexpressive.

Le cycle est achevé : l'amour naissant, la séparation forcée, les retrouvailles, la jalousie, la mort, le souvenir. Une vie.

Très naturellement, les Goyescas se voient complétées, sur ce disque, par six pièces sur des chants populaires espagnols. Dans une large mesure, c'est toujours le même regard qui s'exerce sur les scènes de la vie quotidienne. Par leur dépouillement, ces pièces aux rythmes brillants et colorés évoquent une Espagne plus spontanée et plus capiteuse, sans doute plus marquée par les influences orientales qui ont façonné le sud. C'est l'Espagne de la fête, et c'est donc celle de la nuit.

Après le "Prelude" vient "Añoranza". Au loin la fête attire les solitudes : c'est "Ecos de la Parranda", peut-être une noce de village. On se rapproche pour retrouver les danseurs dans "Vascongada". La nuit devient plus profonde et, au rythme de la "Marcha oriental", le bruit monte pour envelopper les angoisses. C'est "Zambra" qui se transforme en une danse encore plus bruyante : "Zapateado", où chacun martèle lourdement le sol de ses pieds. Et, brutalement, la nuit se referme sur cette gaieté sans bonheur : demain ne sera pas un autre jour.

En ce début de XXe Siècle,l'Espagne est à la recherche de sa gloire passée. Quelques intellectuels, quelques artistes cherchent les raisons d'espérer et les moyens de retrouver l'identité profonde de leur peuple. Malgré les apparences, ce n'est pas un retour en arrière mais un projet qui, on le sait maintenant, sera long et dramatique. Granados aura su porter son regard sur ceux qui l'entouraient, avec compréhension et amour.

Lydia Jardon

La presse en parle !

lemondedelamusique
choc
« Ce disque enregistré en 1995 et qui ressort sous une nouvelle présentation était relativement passé inaperçu lors de sa parution. Pourtant, la pianiste Lydia Jardon, lauréate de la Fondation Cziffra et du concours Milosz Magin, interprète avec flamme les six Goyescas et les Six pièces sur des chants populaires espagnols de Granados composées autour des années 1910. Sous ses doigts, le flamboiement des couleurs, le dessin mélodique gravé à la pointe sèche prennent un relief saisissant (Fandango de candil). Elle parvient, avec un art consommé de la sensualité et du drame, à dégager toute la sève hispanique contenue dans ces oeuvres (Zapateado). Son engagement ne gêne en rien sa capacité à respecter la vigueur rythmique (Epilogo, Serenata del espectro) et les registres de nuances voulus par le compositeur (Los requiebros, El Amor y la Muerte). Un enregistrement assez analytique apporte immédiateté et clarté sonores sans nuire toutefois aux intentions musicales de la soliste. Les états les plus divers de la comédie humaine qu'expriment les toiles de Goya prennent une dimension tour à tour caustique, passionnée, mais avec une retenue stylistique apprise auprès de ses maîtres Milosz Magin et Hüseyin Sermet. Lydia Jardon, d'origine catalane, parle la langue de Granados et se meut avec beaucoup d'aisance dans cet univers au lyrisme très personnel. Elle ne cherche pas à imiter les Goyescas légendaires de Larrocha, ni l'austérité de Ciccolini ou les excès d'imagination de Luisada, la retenue de Del Pueyo ou la poésie impressionniste d'Achucarro dans ces mêmes pages. Son énergie vif-argent est toujours tempérée par une noblesse de ton qui se refuse au pathos et par là même rend ce disque captivant. »

Janvier 2001, Michel Le Naour

classica
« Enregistré en 1995, ce disque paraît seulement aujourd'hui, faisant suite à une excellente interprétation par la pianiste de la Sonate no 2 de Rachmaninov. On retrouve avec plaisir la souplesse et la beauté de son jeu dans un répertoire où dominent les interprètes masculins, à l'exception de l'incontournable Alicia de Larrocha. Et c'est bien à elle que l'on songe en écoutant Lydia Jardon, dont les Goyescas respirent des parfums comparables. Chaque pièce est abordée dans un climat différent, parfois davantage dans un esprit fauréen que dans celui d'une pure et futile recomposition du folklore espagnol. Quejas o la Maja y el Ruisenõr équilibre le lyrisme et la confidence et la narration de l'épilogue, la Serenata del Espectro est parfaitement maîtrisée. Les six (sept avec le prélude) Pièces sur des chants populaires espagnols sont un complément intelligent au raffinement des Goyescas : les danses sont à la fois rustiques, brillantes et sans arrière-pensées. Interprétées comme tels, avec d'ailleurs une prise de son plus valorisante, elles montrent deux aspects de la musique de Granados, considéré parfois à tort comme un épigone d'Albeniz. Peut-être Lydia Jardon continuera-t-elle à explorer la musique hispanique, et pourquoi pas sud-américaine ? Ce répertoire lui va à merveille. »

Décembre 2000, Stéphane Friédérich