The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
RachmaninovGershwin

Debussy, Ravel, Vuillemin...

Lydia Jardon, piano


play
pause
order

Claude Debussy

1.
La Mer, solo piano version
2.
L'Isle joyeuse

Maurice Ravel

3.
Une barque sur l'océan

Louis Vuillemin

4.
Soirs armoricains

AR RE-SE 2001-1

La Mer...

This programme’s four musical works take us on an ocean voyage. A journey that begins at sea with La Mer (1903-1905), in the heart of a limitless expanse void of human presence. La Barque sur l’océan (1906), the next piece to take sail, seems no more inhabited than the first. It is only with the Soirs armoricains (1913-1918) that we come alongside shores inhabited by sailors. Our voyage reaches its end when we disembark on the Isle joyeuse (1904), surrounded by the swell of the ocean.

There is no lack of literature on La Mer. But it has never before been professionally studied from a piano angle, and with good reason. For this work is so specifically orchestral that its transcription into a piece for piano transforms it into an entirely different musical work, one in which the piano is the absolute master. Here, it is a question of a genuine transcription for piano, and not simply a reduction of the orchestra score, the word itself being far too “simplistic”. In the 19th century, four-hand piano arrangements of orchestral works, often proposed by the composers themselves, played an important role in diffusing musical works inaccessible other than inside concert halls. The arranger endeavoured above all to “cram” into four hands a maximum amount of the musical detail originally written for an orchestra, without seeking to adapt the piece to this single instrument. So one can well imagine that “to translate” La Mer for only two hands necessitated a different approach. Lucien Garban (1877-1959), who began this task in 1938, 20 years after Debussy’s death, was a past master in this exercise. Co-disciple of Ravel at the Conservatoire, and his faithful friend, his profession was corrector at Durand. History has never revealed Garban’s work methods, but listening to the result one can imagine to what extent he was familiar with Debussy’s works for piano. And be that as it may, upstream of the actual transcription work, he drew on the close relationships that exist between Debussy’s thinking when composing for orchestra and Debussy composing for piano.

Debussy’s writing for the piano is not an orchestral writing, but it frequently evokes (and virtually calls on) specific instruments: in many of his works, one hears the guitar or mandolin, flute, horn or brass instruments… Conversely, reading and listening to Garban’s transcription brings to mind, more than orchestral works, works written by Debussy specifically for the piano before or after 1904. The work on the tremolos, a style of writing so closely linked to the bow characteristics of chords or timpani rolls, is explored in both the Poissons d’or and Ce qu’a vu le vent d’Ouest. As for the writing conceived for instrumental units, this is to be found in the chord melodies which are a signature of Debussy’s piano music. Certain themes in La Mer, when played with two hands, no longer resemble the orchestral version but seem to make direct reference to a piece for piano: the theme of the first movement after the introduction appears to be right out of a study; with its successive fifths, it positions itself between the study Pour les quartes and that of Pour les sixtes! The theme in Jeux de vagues is akin to the dance theme in L’Isle joyeuse (the latter simply being more piano!). There thus exist multiple examples that illustrate to what extent this work becomes a full-fledged piece “for piano”. Certainly more difficult than the others, sometimes even harder to play inasmuch as certain motifs written to facilitate the playing of a clarinet or a violin find themselves at the extreme ranges of the keyboard. When all is said and done, the listener should not be seeking to distinguish the harps, the call of the eight cellos, the extraordinary clarity resulting from the division of the chords, or the flourish of the brass instruments. It is a piano piece they are listening to, even if the performer has succeeded in firing their (re-)creative imagination to the extent that they are “hearing” an orchestral version of the work, enriched with all the colours of the varying timbres.

La Mer, not being written for piano, does not seek to portray all the movements of fluidity, flow, ebb and swell the sea can evoke. Ravel, on the other hand, in Une barque sur l’Océan, continues the fascinating instrumental discovery journey he already embarked on in Jeux d’eau (1901). But whereas these renditions remained confined to a fountain or a pond, here the composer has enlarged his space. Right from the opening of the piece, the rising and falling wave ushers forth from the major left-hand arpeggios, rendered choppier by the ternary/binary uncertainty of the tempo. Gradually, these arpeggios descend to the low notes, and the sonorous field of the piano envelopes the entire landscape, reaching out to the depths of the abysses, to the heights of the heavens. Swirling high-pitch tremolos are accompanied by the breaking waves emanating from even wider arpeggios, squalls covering seven octaves on the keyboard. The gusts of wind build up to near storm level, reaching fff, but the gentleness of the arpeggios and the resonance of the instrument itself restore the calm.

Evidence of human presence is not at all certain at this moment, the boat seemingly so fragile in the face of the violence of the wave, the horizon seeming so desolate, when everything draws to a sudden halt in the instrument’s high-pitch. It is only as this voyage continues that this presence expresses itself, with the Soirs armoricains. In this four-piece suite, the author has striven to increase the number of “trails” in order to enable the listener to follow. When executing separately one of the pieces, he even asks “that one indicates in brackets on the programme: SOIRS ARMORICAINS indispensable precision to the comprehension of the Music”. Louis Vuillemin, composer, musicologist and critic, belongs to the generation of these musicians born under the Third Republic, similarly to Paul Ladmirault, Paul Le Flem, Rhené-Baton and Louis Aubert, who studied music in Paris but whose creative inspiration had strong roots in their native Brittany soil. Ethnomusicology research was limited to Brittany at that time, and the Armorique recreated here is that which the composer bears within his soul, with its share of visual and sonorous impressions, one he transmits to us through notations highlighted by each movement. In the first movement, Au large des clochers: “Serenity of a twilight eve… The atmosphere’s endless vibrations… Sometimes distant, sometimes drawn nearer by the breeze, rumours whispered from land… And, after scattered tinkles, the discord of the Angelus…”. The piano’s challenge is to give life to this poetic world; it does so with the aid of known methods, proposed in an original form. A multitude of notes or chords held for a long time, often in the low register, the instrument thereby resounds to modal popular songs with a Celtic flavour; frequent contrasts between different sonorous movements solicited by indications such as “distant”, “less far”, “less close”, “sonorous”. The bell effects are already present in this movement, but reach their summit for Carillons in the bay. The initial notation is more succinct: “Rhythms, songs, carillons”. The composer excels here in making a few motifs, repeated in litany, swirl through the air, above which is heard the remote chime of bells seemingly conceived solely for the pleasure of the soloist’s thumbs, or multiple carillons, bells harmoniously ringing out their sonorous truth. Finally, the last movement, Appareillage, gifted with the same elements, brings us back into the world of humans, with a “lively, violent and determinedly rhythmical” tempo. Even more so than in the first sections, the piano’s percussive character blends with the potential of its very resonance, aided by the use of the pedal. But the expression is more intense and here the tension rises to a state of frenzy (a feature shared with the end of La Mer and that of L’Isle joyeuse). It is the relentless rhythm that brings this tension to its crescendo, a tension “always strictly within the same movement”. Even more so than before, the repetition of the motifs and peals of bells produces an eddying sensation, that of man’s unending task, as the proposed text at the beginning suggests: “The jetty. Setting sun. Strong winds. Rearing up beneath the first embrace of the wave, a hundred heavy boats head for sea one after the other in an endless symphony of noise, shouts and songs. Iron, wood and canvass quiver alongside human beings. Light. Movement. Strength. Joy. Life.”

For L’Isle joyeuse, our journey’s end, Debussy is said to have been inspired by the Watteau painting, L’embarquement pour Cynthère. Be that as it may, our vision is not one of a Mediterranean island. It was on Jersey, in mid-sea, the haven he chose for harbouring his romance with Emma Bardac, that Debussy composed the piece. The island resonates with music and instruments: the flute at the beginning is no doubt that of a young shepherd rejoicing in merriment; dance is instantly present with a jaunty theme of a communicative, rhythmic life. The sea takes form through the “undulating” accompaniment of the theme of love that rises like an irrepressible wave. The second half of the piece, successive bursts culminating in a magnificent crescendo, exultantly ends in the seething foam of chord tremolos, the same that conclude La Mer and which once again reunite these two works already so closely related through their writing…for piano.

Anne Charlotte Remond
Translation by Mirella Lamolie
M.L. Traductions

The Press covers it !

pianomag
coupdecoeur
« In the last issue of Piano, le magazine (p.77), we were diminishing the scope of the transcription for piano solo of La Mer. Lydia Jardon, who records precisely this version of the music score (a world first), proves us wrong. Written in 1938 by Lucien Garban, a corrector at Durand, this transcription is not entirely faultless. Orchestra score in hand, certain details merit clarification and refinement: to cite just one example, the melody with which the cellos introduce the passage into D flat in the first movement (measure 32), performed by the left hand in the most elementary fashion, despite this being perfectly feasible. Lydia Jardon, in any event, meets the challenge. She brings alive this musical piece – among the most polished in the repertoire – with the utmost sensitivity, favouring moreover a controlled, retained expression rather than taking a gamble on conveying with just ten fingers all the lyric profusion of a full orchestra. Whereas the orchestral piece makes us feel the spray of the sea, sense the drunken roll of the swell, Jardon’s piano solo reaches out and captures the sound of the waves, in the same way the iodised tang of the sea is carried inland on the wind. Without any will, therefore, that her tour de force capsize the overall balance. Besides Une barque sur l’océan and L’Isle joyeuse, both infused with the same poetic inspiration, the pianist adds to her programme Soirs armoricains by Louis Vuillemen, again filled with coastal essences. The project stands out as much through its originality and consistency as the enthusiasm and poetry Lydia Jardon imparts. »

July-August 2002

classica
« AR RE-SE (“Celles-là” in Breton language, “Those ‘ladies’” in English), is a new label proposing performances recorded by women. In this first disc, Lydia Jardon has chosen “marine impressions” centred around the transcription by Lucien Garban of Debussy’s La Mer. But don’t be expecting here a literal translation of the orchestral piece. The three episodes refer to the author of Préludes and, above all, of Images. Debussy in fact composed La Mer in between these two sequences for piano. Lucien Garban’s writing thus achieves astonishing parallels with Reflets dans l’eau and Poissons d’or which, notwithstanding the aquatic nature of the subjects, evolve with quivering sensuality and sparkling harmonic refinement. Lydia Jardon analyses in detail as much as she plays these three sequences. The Steinway piano will seem hard, notably in the treble range, but the result is one of striking clarity. L’Isle joyeuse and the Ravel piece prove to be an equally penetrating analysis. Lydia Jardon has a particular feel for the most succinct changes in rhythm, introducing the full resonance of the lively passages, perhaps also without engaging in mystery or too “prepared” a sound (see Benedetti Michelangeli). The Soirs armoricains, in which the pianist powerfully narrates the composer’s text, breathes with a fine sense of space in a subtle game of discordant harmonies. The virtually hypnotic beat she announces does justice to the falsely improvised esprit of these beautiful pages. »

Summer 2002, Stéphane Friédérich.

diapason
5diapason
« In 1905, Debussy already produced a four-hand transcription of La Mer for piano. Three years later, Caplet adapted his friend’s partition for two pianos. Thanks to various recordings, these two reductions are relatively well-known with the exception of the version signed Lucien Garban in 1938. Considering the breadth of the original, adapting it for two hands is a true challenge… one that Garban took on in a talented fashion. Granted, it takes a few moments to adapt to this transcription’s foreign feel in familiar territory, but Lydia Jardon – playing here a recording first – convinces and captures our attention right from the start. The program, built around the theme of the sea, is as coherent as it is original. For those already familiar with her superb Rachmaninoff (Sonatas Nos. 1 and 2), Granados (Goyescas) and Chopin (Preludes), we can recommend that you place your trust in this French pianist once again. Une barque sur l’océan, swept up in one great intake of breath, without a hint of a lull, and a L’Isle joyeuse sculptural and deliciously dreamy (with, on the other hand, an overall shading we would like to sparkle a bit more at times), stand up to comparison with the great versions. Nevertheless, beside the transcription of La Mer, it is Vuillemin’s Soirs armoricains (a first recording) which provides the primary interest of this program. Raised in Fauré, Vuillemin (1879-1929) is to Brittany what Séverac was to Languedoc. Debussy said of the author of Cerdaña that his music “felt good”: we could say the same about the Soirs armoricains. The expansive, sonorous but also very listenable playing of the pianist does the rich and contrasted pages full justice (concluding with a splendid Appareillage!). »

May 2002, Alain Cochard

lemondedelamusique
reclemonde
« As the organiser of the Woman Musicians Encounters at Ushant Island since 2001, the Catalan pianist Lydia Jardon, who we have noted for her interpretation of the Goyescas of Granados (ILD – Le Monde de la musique, January 2002), has devoted this new recording to the theme of the sea. Of Debussy’s La Mer, we are familiar with the short score duet for piano (in particular, that of the Crommelynck-Claves duet), but Lydia Jardon, in a world first, has revealed the transcription for piano solo of the orchestra score, done in 1938 by Lucien Garban (1877-1959), a corrector for the publisher Durand, who was close to Ravel and familiar with this high-risk exercise. The three pieces excerpted from Soirs armoricains by Louis Vuillemin, composed beteen 1913 and 1918, show us a musician in the vein of Paul Le Flem or Paul Ladmirault, precursor of Olivier Messiaen with an array of timbres and sonorous aggregates (“Carillons dans la baie”, “Appareillage”). The more traditional pieces such as Une barque sur l’océan by Maurice Ravel and L’Ile joyeuse by Debussy round out the recording for a coherent whole. Lydia Jardon not only gives us a breath of sea mists with her superbly suggestive performance, she also reads the texts that accompany Vuillemin’s Soirs armoricains. This demanding recording, with its original selections, is all the more convincing thanks to the natural quality of the sound. »

May 2002, Michel Le Naour

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
RachmaninovGershwin

Debussy, Ravel, Vuillemin...

Lydia Jardon, piano


play
pause
commande

Claude Debussy

1.
La Mer, version piano
2.
L'Isle joyeuse

Maurice Ravel

3.
Une barque sur l'océan

Louis Vuillemin

4.
Soirs armoricains

AR RE-SE 2001-1

La Mer...

Les quatre œuvres de ce programme nous invitent à un voyage maritime. Un voyage qui commence au large, au centre d'une étendue illimitée avec La Mer (1903-1905), sans aucune présence humaine. La Barque sur l'océan (1906) qui vogue ensuite n'a pas l'air plus habitée. C'est seulement avec les Soirs armoricains (1913-1918) que nous accostons le rivage peuplé de marins. Le périple finira à terre sur L'Isle joyeuse (1904), environnée de houle océane.

La littérature sur La Mer ne manque pas. Mais aucun commentateur ne l'a étudiée sous l'angle du piano, et pour cause. Or la transcription pour piano de cette œuvre si spécifiquement orchestrale en fait une œuvre différente, et à part entière pianistique. Il s'agit bien d'une transcription pour le piano et non d'une réduction de la partition d'orchestre, le mot étant par trop "réducteur". Les arrangements pour piano à quatre mains des œuvres orchestrales, souvent proposés par les compositeurs eux-mêmes, avaient au XIX° une fonction très importante de diffusion des œuvres, inaccessibles en dehors des salles de concert. L'arrangeur s'efforçait surtout de "caser" entre les quatre mains un maximum des informations prévues pour l'orchestre, sans chercher à s'adapter parfaitement à cet unique instrument. On conçoit bien que "traduire" La Mer pour seulement deux mains procède d'une autre démarche. Lucien Garban (1877-1959), qui s'est attelé à cette tâche en 1938, vingt ans après la mort de Debussy, était un habitué de cet exercice. Condisciple de Ravel au Conservatoire et son ami fidèle, il fit sa carrière comme correcteur chez Durand. L'histoire ne dit pas comment Garban a travaillé, mais à écouter le résultat on peut imaginer à quel point il était familier des œuvres pour piano de Debussy. Et quoi qu'il en soit, en amont du travail de transcription, il s'est appuyé sur les relations étroites qui existent entre la pensée de Debussy composant pour l'orchestre, et celle de Debussy composant pour le piano.

L'écriture de Debussy pour le piano n'est pas une écriture orchestrale, mais elle évoque (et pour ainsi dire convoque) fréquemment tel ou tel instrument: dans nombre de ses œuvres, on entend guitare ou mandoline, flûte, cor, ou fanfare de cuivres. A l'inverse, la lecture et l'écoute de la transcription de Garban, rappelle plus que des œuvres orchestrales, bien des œuvres écrites par Debussy directement pour le piano, avant ou après 1904. Le travail sur les tremolos, trait d'écriture tellement attaché aux particularités d'archet des cordes ou aux roulements de timbales, sera exploré dans les Poissons d'or ou dans Ce qu'a vu le vent d'Ouest. L'écriture par blocs instrumentaux se retrouve, elle, dans les mélodies d'accords qui sont une signature du piano de Debussy. Certains thèmes de La Mer, lorsqu'ils sont joués à deux mains, ne rappellent plus la version orchestrale, mais semblent faire référence directement à quelque pièce pour piano: le thème du premier mouvement, l'introduction passée, semble sorti d'une étude; avec ses quintes enchaînées il se situerait entre l'étude Pour les quartes et celle Pour les sixtes ! Le thème de Jeux de vagues est un frère du thème de danse de l'Isle joyeuse, (ce dernier étant seulement plus pianistique !). On pourrait multiplier ainsi les exemples qui montrent à quel point cette œuvre devient totalement "pour le piano". Plus difficile que les autres, certes, parfois même plus pénible à jouer dans la mesure où certains motifs écrits pour faciliter le jeu d'une clarinette ou d'un violon, se retrouvent sur le clavier escarpés ou périlleux. Au bout du compte, l'auditeur ne doit pas chercher à entendre les harpes, l'appel des huit violoncelles, l'incroyable transparence qui résulte de la division des cordes, les fanfares de cuivres, c'est un morceau de piano qu'il écoute, même si l'interprète a eu la possibilité pour nourrir son imagination (re-)créatrice d'écouter une version orchestrale de l'œuvre avec toutes les couleurs des timbres différents.

La Mer, n'étant pas écrite pour le piano, ne cherchait pas à rendre par des moyens pianistiques tous les mouvements de fluidité, de flux, de reflux, de houle, que peut évoquer l'élément liquide. Ravel au contraire, dans Une barque sur l'Océan poursuit les recherches instrumentales menées déjà dans Jeux d'eau (1901). Mais alors que ces jeux restaient cantonnés alors à une fontaine ou à un bassin, le compositeur a ici agrandi son espace. Dès le début du morceau, la vague naît des grands arpèges de main gauche, montants et descendants, rendus plus houleux par l'incertitude ternaire-binaire de la mesure. Peu à peu ces arpèges vont descendre vers le grave et le champ sonore du piano paraîtra couvrir toute l'étendue du paysage, des abysses au firmament. Des friselis en tremolos dans l'aigu seront accompagnés de déferlements d'arpèges plus étendus encore, bourrasques couvrant sept octaves sur le clavier. Les rafales vireront presque à la tempête, jusqu'au fff, mais la douceur des arpèges et les résonances de l'instrument ramèneront le calme.

La présence humaine ici n'est pas du tout certaine, tant la barque paraît frêle face à la violence de la lame, et tant l'horizon paraît désert, lorsque tout s'éteint dans l'aigu de l'instrument. C'est en poursuivant ce voyage sur la mer que cette présence s'affirme, avec les Soirs armoricains. Dans cette suite de quatre pièces, l'auteur s'est ingénié à multiplier les pistes pour permettre à l'auditeur de suivre. Lorsqu'on exécute séparément l'un des morceaux, il demande même "qu'on indique au programme entre parenthèses : SOIRS ARMORICAINS précision indispensable à la compréhension de la Musique". Louis Vuillemin, compositeur, musicologue, critique, appartient à la génération de ces musiciens nés sous la troisième république, comme aussi Paul Ladmirault, Paul Le Flem, Rhené-Baton, Louis Aubert, qui ont reçu leur éducation musicale à Paris, mais dont la veine créatrice est fortement ancrée sur leur sol natal breton. Les recherches ethnomusicologiques étaient limitées en Bretagne à cette époque, et l'Armorique recréée ici est celle que le compositeur porte en lui, avec sa charge d'impressions visuelles et sonores, qu'il nous transmet par des notations en exergue de chaque mouvement. Pour le premier, Au large des clochers : "Sérénité d'un crépuscule... Vibrations indéfinies de l'atmosphère... Tantôt lointaines et tantôt approchées par la brise, rumeurs venues de terre... Et, après des tintements épars, la discorde des Angélus..." Le piano doit tenir la gageure de donner la vie à ce monde poétique; il le fera à l'aide de moyens connus, mais offerts de manière originale. Beaucoup de notes ou d'accords longuement tenus, souvent dans le grave, qui font résonner l'instrument, et sur lesquelles flottent des chansons populaires modales au parfum celte ; de fréquentes oppositions entre des plans sonores différents, requis par des indications comme "lointain", "moins loin", moins près", "sonore". Les effets de cloches apparaissent déjà dans ce mouvement mais seront portés à leur apogée pour Carillons dans la baie. La notation initiale est plus succincte : "Rythmes, chants, carillons". Le compositeur excelle ici à faire tourner dans l'air quelques motifs, répétés en litanie, par-dessus lesquels sonnent quelques cloches isolées qui semblent être conçues pour le plaisir des pouces de l'interprète, ou des ensembles de carillons, harmonies de cloches frappantes de vérité sonore. Le dernier mouvement, enfin, Appareillage, avec les mêmes éléments nous ramène au monde des hommes, avec un tempo "vif, violent et obstinément rythmé". Plus encore que dans les premiers volets, se mêlent ici le caractère percussif du piano, et ses possibilités de résonance aidées par l'emploi de la pédale. Mais l'expression est plus intense, et la tension va monter jusqu'à la frénésie, (point commun avec la fin de La Mer et avec celle de L'Isle joyeuse). C'est par le rythme implacable que monte cette tension "toujours rigoureusement dans le même mouvement". Plus encore que précédemment la répétition des motifs et les volées de cloches produisent un tournoiement, celui de la tâche humaine indéfiniment recommencée, que suggère le texte proposé au début : "Le Môle. Soleil couchant. Grand vent. Se cabrant sous la première étreinte de la lame, cent lourds bateaux s'élancent successivement vers le large dans une interminable symphonie de bruits, de cris, de chants. Le fer, le bois, la toile vibrent avec les êtres. Lumière. Mouvement. Force. Joie. Vie."

L'Isle joyeuse, terme de notre voyage, aurait été inspirée à Debussy par le tableau de Watteau L'embarquement pour Cythère. Pour autant, n'y voyons pas une île de la Méditerranée. C'est à Jersey, en plein océan, où il était venu réfugier ses amours avec Emma Bardac, que Debussy l'a composée. L'île résonne de musique et d'instruments : la flûte du début est sans doute celle d'un petit berger qui appelle aux réjouissances ; la danse est présente tout de suite avec un thème primesautier d'une vie rythmique communicative. La mer est présente avec l'accompagnement "ondoyant" du thème d'amour qui monte comme une vague irrépressible. La seconde moitié de l'œuvre est un immense crescendo, par élans successifs, qui se termine en exultant dans le bouillonnement des tremolos d'accords, les mêmes qui concluaient La Mer et qui rassemblent encore ces deux œuvres si proches déjà par l'écriture...pianistique.

Anne Charlotte Remond

La presse en parle !

pianomag
coupdecoeur
« Dans le dernier numéro de Piano, le magazine (p. 77), nous diminuions la portée de la transcription pour piano solo de La Mer. Lydia Jardon nous fait mentir, qui enregistre justement cette version de la partition (en première mondiale). Réalisée en 1938 par Lucien Garban, correcteur chez l'éditeur Durand, cette transcription n'est pas totalement irréprochable. Partition d'orchestre en main, certains détails mériteraient d'être précisés, affinés ; pour n'en citer qu'un, le chant des violoncelles débutant le passage en ré bémol du premier mouvement (mesure 32), rendu à la main gauche de rudimentaire façon, bien qu'il soit parfaitement exécutable. Lydia Jardon relève en tout cas le défi. Elle fait vivre cette partition avec la plus grande sensibilité, en privilégiant d'ailleurs une expression maîtrisée et retenue plutôt qu'en se risquant à rendre à dix doigts la richesse d'un orchestre foisonnant, parmi les plus ciselés du répertoire. Tandis que l'orchestre nous fait sentir les embruns et l'ivresse de la houle, le piano solo de Jardon apporte du lointain la sonorité des vagues, comme le vent transporte l'odeur iodée de la mer à l'intérieur des terres. Sans volonté, donc, de faire chavirer l'ensemble dans le tour de force. Outre Une barque sur l'océan et L'Isle joyeuse, toutes deux irriguées par le même souffle poétique, la pianiste ajoute à son programme les Soirs armoricains de Louis Vuillemin, où flottent encore les parfums maritimes. Le projet s'impose, autant par son originalité et sa cohérence que par l'enthousiasme et la poésie qu'y montre Lydia Jardon. »

Juillet-août 2002

classica
« AR RE-SE ("Celles-là" en langue bretonne) est un nouveau label qui propose des interprétations enregistrées par des femmes. Dans ce premier disque, Lydia Jardon a choisi des "impressions marines" centrées autour de la transcription de La Mer de Debussy par Lucien Garban. Si l'on attend ici une traduction littérale de la partition orchestrale, on se trompe. Les trois épisodes renvoient à l'auteur des Préludes et surtout des Images. C'est en effet entre ces deux cahiers pour le piano que Debussy compose La Mer. L'écriture de Lucien Garban réalise ainsi d'étonnants parallèles avec Reflets dans l'eau et Poissons d'or, qui, nonobstant le caractère aquatique du propos, évoluent dans une frémissante sensualité, un raffinement harmonique étincelant. Lydia Jardon analyse dans le détail autant qu'elle interprète ces trois séquences. Le piano Steinway semblera dur, notamment dans l'aigu, mais le résultat s'avère saisissant de clarté(s). L'Isle joyeuse et la partition de Ravel font preuve d'une analyse tout aussi pénétrante. Lydia Jardon est particulièrement attentive aux changements rythmiques les plus fins. Elle expose les exubérances sans fards, peut-être également sans le souci du mystère ou d'un son trop "préparé" (voir Benedetti Michelangeli). Les Soirs armoricains, dont la pianiste dit fort bien le texte du compositeur, respirent avec un beau sens de l'espace dans un jeu subtil d'harmonies dissonantes. La pulsation presque hypnotique qu'elle en donne rend justice à l'esprit faussement improvisé de ces belles pages. »

Été 2002, Stéphane Friédérich.

diapason
5diapason
« Dès 1905, Debussy livrait une transcription de La Mer pour piano à quatre mains. Trois ans plus tard, Caplet adaptait pour deux pianos la partition de son ami. Ces deux réductions sont relativement connues grâce au disque, à la différence de la version que Lucien Garban signait en 1938. Compte tenu du foisonnement de l'original, l'adaptation pour deux mains a tout d'un défi... que Garban relève de talentueuse manière. Sans doute le dépaysement en territoire familier que provoque cette transcription suppose-t-il quelques instants d'adaptation, mais Lydia Jardon – qui signe une première discographique – a vite fait de convaincre et de capter l'attention au commencement d'un programme aussi cohérent qu'original, structuré autour du thème de la mer. A ceux qui connaissent déjà ses superbes Rachmaninov (Sonates nos 1 et 2), Granados (Goyescas) et Chopin (Préludes), on ne peut que recommander de faire à nouveau confiance à la pianiste française. Une barque sur l'océan, emportée dans une vaste respiration et sans l'ombre d'un temps mort, et L'Isle joyeuse sculptée, onirique à souhait (avec pour contrepartie une couleur d'ensemble que l'on voudrait par instants un peu plus scintillante) soutiennent la comparaison avec de grandes versions. Toutefois, outre la transcription de La Mer, ce sont les Soirs armoricains de Vuillemin (inédits au disque) qui font d'abord l'intérêt de ce programme. Elève de Fauré, Vuillemin (1879-1929) est à la Bretagne ce que Séverac fut au Languedoc. Debussy disait de l'auteur de Cerdaña que sa musique "sent bon" : on pourrait en faire autant avec le Soirs armoricains. Le jeu ample et timbré mais aussi très lisible de l'interprète rend justice à des pages riches et contrastées (splendide Appareillage conclusif !). »

Mai 2002, Alain Cochard

lemondedelamusique
lemonderec
« Organisatrice depuis 2001 des Rencontres de musiciennes de l'île d'Ouessant, la pianiste d'origine catalane Lydia Jardon, dont on avait remarqué l'interprétation des Goyescas de Granados (ILD -- Le Monde de la musique, janvier 2001), consacre ce nouvel enregistrement au thème de la mer. De La Mer de Debussy, on connaissait la réduction pour piano à quatre mains (celle, en particulier, du Duo Crommelynck-Claves), mais Lydia Jardon, en première mondiale, nous révèle la transcription pour piano seul de la partition d'orchestre, réalisée en 1938 par Lucien Garban (1877-1959), correcteur chez l'éditeur Durand, proche de Ravel et familier de cet exercice à haut risque. Les trois pièces extraites des Soirs armoricains de Louis Vuillemin, composées entre 1913 et 1918, nous font découvrir un musicien dans la mouvance de Paul Le Flem ou Paul Ladmirault, précurseur d'Olivier Messiaen par le jeu des timbres et les agrégats sonores ("Carillons dans la baie", "Appareillage"). Plus traditionnelles, les pages comme Une barque sur l'océan de Maurice Ravel et L'Isle joyeuse de Debussy achèvent de donner sa cohérence à l'ensemble. Lydia Jardon ne se contente pas, par son jeu superbement suggestif, de nous faire respirer les embruns, mais lit elle-même les textes qui accompagnent les Soirs armoricains de Vuillemin. Ce disque exigeant, original par ses choix, convainc d'autant plus que la prise de son est très naturelle. »

Mai 2002, Michel Le Naour