The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
Alexandrov

Nikolaï Miaskovsky

Piano Sonatas n° 2, 3, 4

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
order

Sonata n° 2 in F sharp minor op. 13

1.
Lento, ma deciso
2.
Allegro affanato
3.
Allegro con moto e tenebroso
4.
Allegro affanato
5.
Allegro e poco a poco più agitato
6.
Allegro disperato

Sonata n° 3 in C minor op. 19

7.
Con desiderio, improvisato
8.
Moderato con moto, stentato, ma sempre agitato

Sonata n° 4 in C minor op. 27

9.
Allegro moderato, irato
10.
Andante non troppo quasi Sarabanda
11.
Allegro con brio


Art Director and Sound Engineer: Jean-Marc Laisné.
Recorded at L’heure bleue, Salle de musique, La Chaux-de-Fond, Switzerland, on 25, 26, 27th January and 7th April 2009.
Piano: Steinway (Regamey).
Booklet : Georges Hallfa.

AR RE-SE 2009-2

Miaskovsky or An Inner Exile

Nikolai Miaskovsky was born in 1881, in the agitated Europe that was described by Marcel Gauchet as “the crucible of the years 1880-1914". This word can also be construed in its alchemical meaning, as the melting pot that weaves and brings together what will be the constituting elements of the twentieth century.

This was a particularly difficult process for Russia. In the same year of 1881, Czar Alexander II dies in a bomb attack and the first pogroms are forerunners for future slaughters on a much more massive scale. Russia’s industry is developing rapidly and benefiting from considerable foreign investment, including the famous Russian bonds. Thence emerges a working class and along with it, the social conflicts particular to industrialized societies: the first great strike in Russia bursts out in the cotton plant of Orekhovo-Zuievo in 1885. The composer’s childhood is contemporary to the advent of the alliance system that almost drove the world to war on several occasions, before succeeding in doing so in 1914. Undermined by famine, revolts and sweeping military defeats, Nicholas II’s regime collapses in 1917. Between these two dates, the Great War claimed an astounding six million victims from Russia.

By the time he finished his studies in 1911, Miaskovsky, trained as an engineer officer like his father, who was an atypical, pacifist general, had already left the army to devote himself entirely to music. He only practiced his new activity for a few years. Called up for duty and sent on the front in 1914, the composer is an actor and a horrified witness to the First World War. Wounded in his soul and body – he suffers from a brain concussion –, he witnesses on the battlefield the birth of a century whose brutality he will fully get to feel during his lifetime. After the Czar’s fall and until 1918, Miaskovsky serves at the Soviet military staff, more by patriotism, it seems, than by political conviction. In a tragic paradox, his father is murdered the same year on a railway platform by a revolutionary soldier.

The civil war ends in 1921 with the defeat of the White Russians and the total assumption of power by the Soviets. After the mistakes and the catastrophic economic experiences of the communist era, the NEP (New Economic Policy) seems to herald a return to realism and prosperity. Miaskovsky’s life evolves at the same rhythm as his new country’s. Appointed as a professor at the Moscow Conservatory in 1921 (1919, according to some sources), he settles into his life as a composer and academic. Does the young Soviet Revolution give him hope in a more fair and free society, in a new impulse “in new affection and noise (1)” for this world? Despite its flaws, the new society is a place of artistic and social experimentation, a huge cultural whirlpool. Not so once Stalin comes to power: after the Kulaks – farmers “who own their production tools” and are opposed to collectivization –, the new bourgeoisie generated by the NEP is exterminated, the avant-gardes are brought into line and the “realism adapted to socialism” becomes the official doctrine of the regime. Along with the irreversible advent of totalitarianism, 1930 is also the year of the suicide of poet Vladimir Maiakovsky, who embodied the avant-garde utopia, and the creation of the Gulag.

Can Miaskovsky’s “inner exile” or “emigration”, in the words of musicologist Mikhael Segelman, be traced back to these years? Confronted with the tragedy of history, the composer may remember his father’s advice: “The only form of liberty that I recognize, the general wrote to his son, is the victory over yourself. (…) Only Christ has shown us what [Liberty means]: to master oneself, to surpass oneself. Work towards that goal, and you shall be free.” It is difficult at this point to say anything about the composer’s religious views. But the testimonies show that, at the very least, he adopted what could be branded as a “philosophy of withdrawal”: mastering oneself, being in the world without being part of it and compensating the outer, tragic forces by the inner force. This aloofness and high-mindedness that prevailed during his whole life elevated the composer to a higher moral status among his fellow musicians.

These qualities were more than necessary to Miaskovsky in order to overcome the 1948 persecutions launched by Jdanov against the most prominent Soviet composers, including Shostakovich, Prokofiev and Miaskovsky himself. Jdanov (as in the infamous “Jdanov doctrine”) who, in a tragic and surrealist fashion, serves both as Minister of Police and Minister of Culture, accuses them of formalism – meaning doing “petty bourgeois” musical research “against the People”. He pits the terrified musicians against one another. The Union of Composers is a miniature Soviet Union. Just as in the country at large, the most absurd directives are applied, everyone’s energy is consumed in trying to solve invented contradictions, musicians denounce one another to save their standing or their own lives. In the whole of the Soviet Union, as in the Union of Composers, anguish and lies prevail (2). Sleep itself becomes a fleeting notion. Like many of his countrymen, Shostakovich, his suitcase ready at the foot of the bed, lies down fully dressed and spends his nights listening out for the slightest noise, waiting for an arrest which, in his case, will never come. Stalin is also awake at night, like Macbeth. But not because of guilt or the conscience of what he has done: he spends his nights drawing up the lists of his victims. Miaskovsky does not play into the persecutors’ hands. He refuses self-criticism, public or in writing, and does not attend the “meetings of Muscovite composers and musicologists” or the public humiliation sessions organized at the Conservatory in front of the students.

To what extent can you remain aloof in such situations? Two world wars, years of watching the Soviet society absurdly devour its children, purge after purge, circle after circle, in the name of the inflexible march of history (is it to ward off death, of whom he once wrote “she is the only winner”, that Stalin offers his countrymen as a sacrifice?), the 1948 persecutions and the ensuing skewing of human relations all affected the composer’s faltering health, which takes a turn for the worse. He passes away two years later, in the family circle, on August 8, 1950.

His human qualities as well as his political views were essentially those of a moderate. As such, although he probably shared a vague belief in “progress” with his contemporaries, it is likely that he never totally adhered to historic determinism or to the creed in a “brighter future”, let alone the “material” advent of a new man and an accompanying new musical language. Even before Stalin eradicated any avant-garde tendencies in the USSR, his natural inclination will have caused him to cultivate and prolong the classical language. The symphony is his favorite formal framework. It allows him to hone a proven craftsmanship and to concentrate on encapsulating onto paper the subtlest variations that precisely come from the “inner man”. This does not mean he is against modernism. He analyzed, commented and taught his students works by Debussy, Ravel, Skriabin, Stravinsky, Strauss, Schoenberg and was quite aware of the new fields that they had opened.

As a matter of fact, for a certain period of time, Miaskovsky developed a very advanced musical syntax as well, as in the Second, Third and Fourth Sonatas that are recorded here. These are huge, crucible-like works, that do not fall short of the piano works by Prokofiev, Rachmaninov or his Western contemporaries. Lydia Jardon describes their power, their profusion and their intimidating pianistic language, which seems to exceed the human limits – were they maybe meant for a “new man”? “A music of wrath”, the interpreter adds. This is, indeed, about wrath, musically conveyed by the Dies Irae (3) that underlies the entire Second Sonata (1913) and illustrated by a final fugue whose out-of control theme seems to be possessed with desperate folly.

The Second and Third Sonatas are in one movement and therefore do not benefit, unlike the Fourth, from the relative rest provided by a slow movement. Both convey the impression of an absolute, inescapable disarray. The three sonatas seem to start with the same distraught phrase, an enraged punch of sorts on the keyboard. They are like the three versions of an increasingly radical work. All of them include, within a very strong architectural design and minor tones, the exploration of the low and high registers, extraordinary piano sections verging on tonal and psychological dissolution, an obsessive, monomaniacal motif writing, the growing, panic rehashing of ideas, hammered-out codas, and the frenzied struggle between left and right hand, always hurling themes and motifs at each other with the utmost violence, a fight between a soul and itself as it were. It is worth noting that, as a sign of hope and conflict resolution, this “Wrath Trilogy” formed by the Second, Third and Fourth Sonatas ends (last movement of the Fourth Sonata) in a mood that is as wild as before, but this time joyous and gambolling.

Indeed, what could the wrath of this music be directed against? A Soviet musical critic may have answered: “against an outdated social order, an old skin that the new world needs to shed.” A safer bet is that what Miaskovsky wanted to get rid of was himself, the old man that needs to be “mastered” and “surpassed”, according to the paternal precepts, “in order to be free”. For if the works that we have just mentioned really have something to do with the inner world of their author, what can the composer do, in order not to fall prey to it, but to overcome these extremely violent tensions and to reverse the trend so as to find inner peace?

A spiritualist perspective on the new man, whom the communist ideology considered only from a materialistic angle. Nikolai Miaskovsky would have certainly adhered to this phrase by the contemporary poet Pessoa: “I am a man for whom the outer world is inner reality”.

Georges Hallfa
Translation: Alexandre Escorcia and Jennifer Arenson-Escorcia

(1) Excerpt from a poem by Arthur Rimbaud, Départ [note by the translator].
(2) It is worth remembering that 1948 is also the year of the Lyssenko affair, which is the exact match, in the scientific realm, to the persecution of composers. In 1948, the whole of the USSR literally “walks on its head” and lies become the reality.
(3) Dies Irae that is to be found again in the Sixth Symphony, composed ten years later.

The Press covers it !

classica
star
« This recital presents scores that are, alas, rarely played or recorded. Less immediately appealing on the rhythmic or harmonic level than those of Prokofiev and Scriabin, held less by the melodious flow than with Medtner, Miaskovsky’s sonatas are no less fascinating. Their epic, violently intensified temperament makes no secret of the diverse influences: Rachmaninov and Scriabin, essentially, along with Debussy and, sometimes, Chopin or even Schumann in the Second Sonata. Lydia Jardon offers us a reading both cutting and highly expressive, preserving the clarity of the writing as much as demonstrating its narrative dimension. Her playing has nothing impulsive about it, and she dominates the fantastic, whimsical side and motor rhythms of these works in impressive fashion. Indeed, it would be so easy to reproduce only a succession of atmospheres ranging from despondency to rage. This coherence of intention shows the originality of Miaskovsky’s music and, above all, his highly personal handling of sound. The pianist favours the sound matter, in fact, the effects of resonance and the silence after the paroxysm of chords. The discography is hereby enriched by a modern version of reference, which supplants the readings of McLachIan and Hegedüs. In fact, Lydia Jardon obtains a balance between passion and lucidity, a balance we had hoped to find again since the accounts of Richter in the Sonata n°3 (RCA, Pyramid). Just one regret about this disc: the playing time is a bit too short. »

Classica, October 2009, Stéphane Friédérich

diapason
rec
« The Russian repertoire clearly suits Lydia Jardon! After the Rachmaninov sonatas and Scriabin’s complete Études (Ar Ré-Sé), she has now tackled a composer infinitely less well known or documented. Granted, his 27 symphonies were recorded by Svetlanov (Warner, 16 CDs), and his chamber works and concertos have not had too much cause to complain, but, aside from the Sonata n°3 by Richter, the discography of Miaskovsky’s piano music has remained extremely barren up until the release of this version of the three sonatas — dating, respectively from 1912, 1920 and 1924 —, the most interesting of the nine left by the composer. A constant technical challenge, this music never, however, lapses into exteriority and puts its virtuoso surge at the service of sombre, restrained energy. Haunted by the Dies irae theme, Sonata n°2, which opens the programme, sets the tone. Betraying the influence of Scriabin, it, along with the Third, adopts the monolithic construction typical of the Poet of Ecstasy’s Sonatas Nos. 5-10. However, these furious, personal pages let us hear something more than just an epigone: less sulphur and more rage, one might say. Lydia Jardon gives them a sweep and a sound palette of remarkable richness and density. In Sonata n°4, Miaskovsky adopts a more classic construction, even though the character remains profoundly irato, to borrow the adjective added to the opening Allegro. His masterpiece for the piano? Perhaps. In any case, we admire the intelligence with which the artist combines wrathful intentions and concern for balance. »

Diapason, October 2009, Alain Cochard

classic
« Miaskovsky rediscovered
Lydia Jardon in recital at the Athénée

Lydia Jardon? Don’t count on her to do things like everyone else! Create a festival? When the idea came to her about ten years ago, the pianist decided to settle on the island of Ushant. The mockers mocked… ‘Boosted’ by the intelligent mutualisation of forces that Breton festivals carry out/initiate since that summer, ‘Women Musicians at Ushant’ has now become one of the trendiest destinations on the west coast of France. Choosing repertoire? Lydia Jardon likes nothing better than a challenge and, often, rarity. After very fine recordings of Granados’s Goyescas and the two Rachmaninov Sonatas, the pianist recently released what is now the standard reference by which recordings of the complete Scriabin Etudes must be measured. The universe of Russian music ideally suits the ardour and rich palette of colours of her playing. When Pascal Ianco, at Éditions du Chant du Monde (1), sent the scores of the Sonatas of Nikolai Miaskovsky (1881-1950) to Lydia Jardon, the artist fell in love at first sight with the music of a hugely talented composer who is overly neglected. About his fellow composer and close friend — who, like himself and Shostakovich, were the object of the combined attack of the sinister comrade Zhdanov in January 1948 — Prokofiev said: ‘Everything that Miaskovsky wrote is profoundly personal and of admirable psychological intuition. This is not the kind of music that quickly becomes popular.’ Miaskovsky’s works were played fairly often in western Europe and the United States during the interwar period, but since then, we have, alas, lost sight of a composer who thoroughly deserves to be (re)discovered. Maestro Evgeny Svetlanov did a great deal for him, and we have a complete recording of the 27 Symphonies under his fervent baton (Warner, 16 CDs). Henceforth, we shall put Lydia Jardon’s (2) Miaskovsky recital alongside that voluminous set. With Sonatas Nos. 2, 3 — still post-Scriabin in many aspects — and 4, it in fact constitutes the finest recording of Miaskovsky piano music available today and, in addition, presents the composer’s three most appealing sonatas out of the nine he bequeathed to us. This exceptionally accomplished CD, one of the recording events of the fall season, deserved to be accompanied by a recital. Lydia Jardon will take to the stage of the Théâtre de l’Athénée on Monday 28 September for a Beethoven-Miaskovsky programme in which the Russian’s Sonata n°4 will be contrasted with the Opus 110, whilst the burning Sonata n°2, haunted by the Dies irae theme, will counterbalance the feverish Appassionata. The appeal of the programme can only be further reinforced by its coherence and balance. »

(1) To learn more about Miaskovsky and a number of other Russian — but not only — composers, one will gain a lot from consulting the site of Éditions du Chant du Monde: www.chantdumonde.com/fr/editions

(2) A recital available, like all of Lydia Jardon’s recordings, on the AR RÉ-SÉ label (dist. Codaex): www.lydiajardon.com/discographie_fr.html

concertclassic.com, September 2009, Alain Cochard

education musicale
« Following the publication of Nikolai Miaskovsky’s Piano Sonatas Nos.3 and 4 (see our Newsletter, May 2009), this CD, which, in addition, includes the Second, comes at just the right moment to allow the performers to benefit from the interpretation criteria retained by Lydia Jardon. Born in 1881 — the year of the death of Tsar Alexander II —, the composer, who was called up in 1914, would be in the service of the administrative staff after the fall of the Tsar. It was only in 1921 that he became a professor at the Moscow Conservatory; in 1948, he was subjected to the persecutions and constraints of the Composers’ Union. His Sonatas Nos.2 in F sharp minor, Op.13 and 3 in C minor, Op.19, both in a single, unbroken movement, have no middle slow movement and exploit the outer registers, sometimes turning to obsession, with discreet quotations of the Dies irae theme (Sonata n°2), and relying on the contrasts of the Lento and Allegro movements. Georges Hallfa compares them to ‘a spiritualist perspective on the new Man, which Communist ideology considered from the material angle’. Sonata n°4, in C minor, Op.27, is tripartite: Allegro…, Andante… and Allegro con brio. The eminent pianist makes child’s play of all the pitfalls in these Sonatas, thanks to flawless technique and unfailing energy.  »

L'Education musicale, Number 32, October 2009

lechantdumonde
fcm
scpp

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Alexandrov

Nikolaï Miaskovsky

Sonates pour piano n° 2, 3, 4

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
commande

Sonate n° 2 en fa dièse mineur op. 13

1.
Lento, ma deciso
2.
Allegro affanato
3.
Allegro con moto e tenebroso
4.
Allegro affanato
5.
Allegro e poco a poco più agitato
6.
Allegro disperato

Sonate n° 3 en do mineur op. 19

7.
Con desiderio, improvisato
8.
Moderato con moto, stentato, ma sempre agitato

Sonate n° 4 en do mineur op. 27

9.
Allegro moderato, irato
10.
Andante non troppo quasi Sarabanda
11.
Allegro con brio


Ingénieur du son : Jean-Marc Laisné.
Enregistré à L’Heure bleue*, Salle de musique, La Chaux-de-Fond, Suisse,
les 25, 26, 27 janvier et le 7 avril 2009.
Piano : Steinway (Regamey).
Livret : Georges Hallfa.

AR RE-SE 2009-2

Miaskovsky ou L’Exil intérieur

Nikolaï Miaskovsky voit le jour en 1881, dans une Europe agitée que Marcel Gauchet décrit comme « le cratère des années 1880-1914 ». Comprenons aussi ce mot dans son acception alchimique : c’est dans ce creuset que s’élaborent et s’assemblent les éléments qui constitueront le XXe Siècle. Gestation particulièrement difficile pour la Russie : cette même année 1881, le Tsar Alexandre II meurt dans un attentat à la bombe, et les premiers pogroms annoncent des massacres d’une toute autre ampleur. Pendant l’enfance du compositeur se met en place le système d’alliances qui mènera à la Première Guerre Mondiale et, avant même 1914, manquera plusieurs fois de mettre le feu aux poudres. La Russie, en plein développement industriel, bénéficie d’investissements étrangers considérables, dont les fameux emprunts russes. D’où l’émergence d’une classe ouvrière, qui s’accompagne des conflits sociaux propres aux sociétés industrialisées : la première grande grève russe éclate dans les usines de coton d’Orekhovo-Zouiévo en 1885.

Lorsqu’il termine ses études, en 1911, Miaskovsky, officier du Génie (tout comme son père, général atypique et pacifiste), a déjà quitté l’armée pour se consacrer entièrement à la musique. Il n’exerce sa nouvelle profession que peu de temps. Mobilisé en 1914 et envoyé sur le front, le compositeur est l’acteur et le témoin horrifié du premier conflit mondial. Blessé dans son âme et dans sa chair – il est victime d’une commotion cérébrale –, il assiste, sur les champs de bataille, à la naissance d’un siècle dont il éprouvera toute la brutalité. Après la chute du Tsar et jusqu’en 1918, Miaskovsky sert à l’état-major soviétique, plus par patriotisme que par conviction politique, -semble-t-il. Tragique paradoxe : la même année, son père est abattu sur un quai de gare par un soldat révolutionnaire.

La guerre civile s’achève en 1921 sur la défaite des Russes blancs et la prise du pouvoir total par les Soviets. Après les errements et les expériences économiques catastrophiques du début de l’ère communiste, la NEP (Nouvelle Économie Politique) semble annoncer un retour au réalisme et à la prospérité. L’existence de Miaskovsky évolue au même rythme que celui de sa nouvelle patrie. Cette même année 1921 (1919, selon certaines sources), nommé professeur au Conservatoire de Moscou, il s’installe durablement dans son existence de compositeur et de professeur. La jeune Révolution soviétique lui donne-t-elle l’espoir d’une société plus juste, plus libre, d’un monde ayant pris un nouveau départ « dans l’affection et les bruits neufs » ? La nouvelle société, malgré ses travers, est un lieu d’expérimentations artistiques et sociales, un énorme bouillonnement culturel. On sait ce qu’il en adviendra une fois Staline arrivé au pouvoir : après les Koulaks – paysans « possédant leur propre outil de production », et opposés à la collectivisation –, la nouvelle classe bourgeoise née de la NEP est exterminée, les avant-gardes sont mises au pas, et le « réalisme adapté au Socialisme » devient la doctrine officielle du régime. L’année 1930, qui marque l’avènement définitif du Totalitarisme, voit en même temps le suicide du poète Vladimir Maïakovsky, qui incarnait l’utopie avant-gardiste, et la création du Goulag.

Est-ce de cette période que date ce que le musicologue Michael Segelman appelle « l’exil intérieur » de Miaskovsky ? Car face à la tragédie de l’Histoire, le compositeur se souvient peut-être des conseils paternels : « L’unique forme de liberté que je reconnaisse, écrit le général à son fils, c’est la victoire sur soi-même. […] Seul le Christ nous a montré ce [que le mot « Liberté » signifie] : se dompter soi-même, se dépasser. Travaille dans cette direction, et tu seras libre. ». Il est encore difficile d’affirmer quoi que ce soit sur les convictions religieuses du compositeur. Mais les témoignages attestent qu’au minimum, il adopta ce qu’on pourrait appeler une « philosophie du retrait » ; celle qui consiste à se vaincre soi-même, à être dans le monde sans être du monde et à compenser les forces extérieures et tragiques par la force intérieure. Ce détachement, cette hauteur de vue dont témoigne toute son existence, fera du compositeur la conscience morale de sa profession.

De hauteur morale, il en aura fallu beaucoup à Miaskovsky pour supporter les persécutions de 1948 lancées par Jdanov contre les compositeurs soviétiques les plus en vue, parmi lesquels Chostakovitch, Prokofiev et Miaskovsky lui-même. Jdanov, l’homme de la fameuse doctrine, et qui porte la double casquette, tragique et surréaliste, de Ministre de la police et de la culture, les accuse de Formalisme – autrement dit, de se livrer à des recherches musicales « petites-bourgeoises et contre le Peuple ». Il dresse les musiciens terrorisés les uns contre les autres. L’Union des Compositeurs est une Union Soviétique en miniature. On y applique tout autant les directives les plus absurdes, on s’y mobilise pour résoudre des contradictions inventées de toutes pièces, on s’y dénonce mutuellement pour sauver sa situation, ou tout simplement sa peau. Dans toute l’Union Soviétique, comme dans celle des compositeurs, règnent l’angoisse et le mensonge (1). Jusqu’au sommeil, qui fuit : Chosta-kovitch, comme beaucoup de ses compatriotes, sa valise préparée au pied de son lit, se couche tout habillé et passe ses nuits à épier le moindre bruit en attendant une arrestation qui, pour lui, n’arrivera jamais. Comme Macbeth, Staline veille. Ce n’est certes pas la conscience de son acte ou la culpabilité qui le tiennent éveillé : il occupe ses nuits à dresser la liste de ses victimes.

Miaskovsky ne se prête pas au jeu des persécuteurs. Il refuse de faire son autocritique, publiquement ou par écrit, et d’assister aux « réunions des compositeurs et musicologues moscovites » comme aux séances d’humiliations publiques organisées au Conservatoire devant les élèves.

Jusqu’où peut-on pousser le détachement ? Les deux guerres mondiales, le spectacle de la société soviétique dévorant absurdement ses enfants, purge après purge, cercle après cercle, au nom de la marche inflexible de l’histoire (Staline offre-t-il ses compatriotes en holocauste pour mieux conjurer la mort, lui qui a écrit « qu’il n’y a qu’elle qui gagne » ?), les persécutions de cette année 1948 et la perversion des liens humains qu’elles entraînent auront certainement affecté la santé défaillante du compositeur, qui s’altère dramatiquement. Il s’éteindra deux ans plus tard, entouré des siens, le 8 août 1950.

Humainement comme politiquement, Miaskovsky fut essentiellement un modéré. En tant que tel, il n’a sans doute jamais totalement adhéré au déterminisme historique, aux « lendemains qui chantent », et encore moins à l’avènement « matériel » d’un homme nouveau (et d’une langue musicale nouvelle qui en aurait été le corollaire). Avant même que Staline n’élimine toute trace d’avant-gardisme en URSS, sa pente naturelle l’aura probablement incité à cultiver et prolonger le langage classique. La symphonie est sa forme de prédilection. Elle lui permet de raffiner un artisanat éprouvé, et de garder toute son attention à capter sur le papier à musique les vibrations les plus subtiles émanant de l’ « homme intérieur », précisément. Cela ne fait pas pour autant de lui un « antimoderniste ». Il a analysé, commenté et enseigné à ses étudiants, les œuvres de Debussy, Ravel, Scriabine, Stravinsky, Strauss, Schoenberg, et a exploré, pour son propre compte, certains des territoires qu’ils avaient ouverts.

A vrai dire, pour un temps, Miaskovsky développa lui aussi une syntaxe musicale très avancée, dont témoignent les Deuxième, Troisième et Quatrième Sonates enregistrées ici. Œuvres-cratères, qui n’ont rien à envier aux œuvres pour piano de Prokofiev, de Rachmaninov ou de ses contemporains occidentaux. Lydia Jardon en décrit la puissance, la profusion et le pianisme intimidant qui semble excéder nos limites – serait-il destiné à un « homme nouveau » ? Voilà, ajoute l’interprète de ce disque, une « musique du courroux ». C’est bien de colère dont il s’agit ici, symbolisée musicalement par le Dies Irae (2) qui sous-tend l’entière Deuxième Sonate (1912) – et par une fugue finale dont le thème échevelé semble atteint de folie désespérée.

Les Deuxième et Troisième Sonates, qui sont en un seul mouvement et ne bénéficient pas, contrairement à la Quatrième, de la détente relative d’un mouvement lent, donnent l’impression d’un désarroi absolu et sans issue. Elles semblent d’ailleurs commencer par la même phrase éperdue, dite différemment. Les trois sonates ont d’ailleurs en commun de s’ouvrir – et parfois de se conclure – par un geste musical forcené, sorte de coup de poing rageur sur le clavier. Elles sont comme les trois versions d’une même œuvre, à chaque fois plus radicale, et partagent, au sein d’une pensée architecturale très forte, l’exploration extrême de registres, d’extraordinaires passages piano frisant la dissolution tonale ou psychologique, une écriture motivique obsessive et monomane, le ressassement croissant et panique des idées, des codas assénées comme à coup de marteau, et cette lutte forcenée de la main droite et de la main gauche se renvoyant perpétuellement thèmes et motifs dans la plus grande violence, et qui semble le combat d’une âme contre elle-même. Notons que, signe d’espoir et symptôme de résolution des conflits, cette « Trilogie de la colère » que sont les Deuxième, Troisième et Quatrième Sonates, s’achève (dernier mouvement de la Quatrième Sonate) dans une humeur tout aussi sauvage, mais cette fois joyeuse et bondissante.

D’ailleurs, contre quoi serait-elle courroucée, cette musique ? Un critique musical soviétique aurait pu répondre : « contre un ordre social vermoulu, vieille mue dont un monde neuf doit s’extraire ». Gageons que ce dont veut se débarrasser Miaskovsky, c’est de lui-même, de l’homme ancien qu’il faut « dompter » et « dépasser », selon les préceptes paternels, « pour être libre ». Car si les œuvres que nous venons d’évoquer ont réellement quelque chose à voir avec le monde intérieur de leur auteur, que peut faire ce dernier, afin de ne pas y succomber, de dépasser des tensions d’une telle violence et, renversant la donne, de trouver la paix intérieure ?

Perspective spiritualiste sur l’Homme nouveau, que l’idéologie communiste a considéré sous l’angle matériel. Nikolaï Miaskovsky eût sans doute pu faire sienne la phrase de Pessoa, son contemporain : « Je suis un homme pour qui le monde extérieur est une réalité intérieure ».

Georges Hallfa

(1) Souvenons-nous que 1948 est également l’année de l’affaire Lyssenko, qui est l’exact pendant, dans le domaine scientifique, des persécutions lancées contre les compositeurs. Dans toute l’URSS, qui littéralement « marche sur la tête », cette année 1948 voit la substitution du mensonge à la réalité.
(2) Dies Irae qu’on retrouvera dix ans plus tard dans la Sixième Symphonie.

La presse en parle !

classica
star
« Ce récital présente des partitions hélas peu jouées et peu enregistrées. Moins immédiatement séduisantes sur le plan rythmique et harmonique que celles de Prokofiev et de Scriabine, moins tenues par le flot mélodieux comme chez Medtner, les sonates de Miaskovski n'en sont pas moins passionnantes. Leur tempérament épique, violemment exacerbé, ne fait pas mystère de diverses influences : Rachmaninov et Scriabine, essentiellement, mais aussi Debussy et parfois Chopin, voire Schumann dans la Deuxième Sonate. Lydia Jardon nous en offre une lecture à la fois acérée et très expressive. Elle préserve autant la lisibilité de l'écriture qu'elle en montre la dimension narrative. Son jeu n'a rien d'impulsif et elle domine de manière impressionnante le côté fantasque et motorique de ces pages. Il serait en effet si facile de ne restituer qu'une succession d'atmosphères allant de l'abattement à la rage. Cette cohérence du propos montre l'originalité de la musique de Miaskovski et surtout le traitement si personnel du son. La pianiste privilégie en effet la matière sonore, les effets de résonance, le silence après le paroxysme d'accords. La discographie s'enrichit d'une version moderne de référence qui supplante les lectures de McLachIan et Hegedüs. En effet, Lydia Jardon obtient l'équilibre entre passion et lucidité, équilibre que l'on espérait retrouver depuis les témoignages de Richter dans la Sonate n°3 (RCA, Pyramid). Un seul regret pour ce disque : une durée un peu trop courte. »

Classica, Octobre 2009, Stéphane Friédérich

diapason
rec
« Le répertoire russe réussit à Lydia Jardon ! Après les Sonates de Rachmaninov et l'intégrale des Études de Scriabine (Ar Ré-Sé), elle s'attaque à un compositeur infiniment moins connu et documenté. Certes, ses vingt-sept symphonies ont été gravées sous la baguette de Svetlanov (Warner, 16 CD), et ses opus chambristes et concertants n'ont pas trop eu à se plaindre. Mais hormis la Sonate n°3 par Richter, la discographie du piano miaskovskien demeurait bien désertique, jusqu'à la parution de cette version des trois sonates les plus intéressantes parmi les neuf que lègue l'auteur — elles datent respectivement de 1912, 1920 et 1924. Défi technique incessant, cette musique ne cède pourtant jamais à l'extériorité et met son déferlement virtuose au service d'une énergie sombre et contenue. Hantée par le thème du Dies irae, la Sonate n°2 qui ouvre le programme donne le ton. Trahissant l'influence de Scriabine, elle adopte, ainsi que la suivante, la construction monolithique propre aux Sonates n°s 5 à 10 du Poète de l'extase. Cependant, ces pages furieuses et personnelles font entendre autre chose qu'un épigone. Moins de soufre, plus de rage, pourrait-on dire. Lydia Jardon les porte avec un souffle et une palette sonore d'une richesse et d'une densité remarquables. Avec la Sonate n°4, Miaskovski adopte une construction plus classique, quoique le caractère demeure profondément « irato », pour reprendre le qualificatif accolé à l'Allegro initial. Son chef-d'œuvre pianistique ? Peut-être. On admire en tout cas l'intelligence avec laquelle l'interprète y conjugue propos courroucé et souci d'équilibre. »

Diapason, Octobre 2009, Alain Cochard

classic
« Miaskovsky retrouvé
Lydia Jardon en récital à l’Athénée

Lydia Jardon ? Ne comptez pas sur elle pour faire les choses comme les autres ! Créer un festival ? Lorsque l’idée lui vint il y a une dizaine d’années, c’est sur l’Île d’Ouessant que la pianiste décida de s’installer. Les moqueurs de moquèrent... « Boostées » par l’intelligente mutualisation des forces à laquelle les festivals bretons procèdent depuis cet été, les Rencontres de « Musiciennes à Ouessant » sont aujourd’hui en passe de devenir l’une des destinations les plus « tendance » de la côte Ouest.
Choisir du répertoire ? Lydia Jardon n’aime rien tant que le défi et, souvent, la rareté. Après de très beaux enregistrements des Goyescas de Granados et des deux Sonates de Rachmaninov, la pianiste a plus récemment signé une intégrale de référence des Etudes de Scriabine. L’univers de la musique russe convient idéalement à l’ardeur et à la riche palette de couleurs de son jeu.
Lorsque Pascal Ianco, aux Editions du Chant du Monde(1), a communiqué à Lydia Jardon les partitions des Sonates de Nikolai Miaskovsky (1881-1950), le coup de foudre s’est produit entre l’interprète et la musique d’un immense compositeur trop oublié. De son collègue et grand ami – qui, comme lui ou Chostakovitch, fit les frais du « tir groupé » du sinistre camarade Jdanov en janvier 1948 – Prokofiev disait : « Tout ce qu’a écrit Miaskovsky est profondément personnel et d’une intuition psychologique admirable. Cette musique n’est pas de celles qui deviennent rapidement populaires. » Les œuvres de Miaskovsky furent assez souvent jouées en Europe occidentale et aux Etats-Unis durant l’entre-deux-guerres, mais depuis on a hélas perdu de vue un compositeur qui mérite franchement d’être (re)découvert.
Le maestro Evgeny Svetlanov a beaucoup fait pour lui et l’on dispose d’une intégrale des 27 Symphonies sous sa fervente baguette (16 CD Warner). Désormais on rangera tout près de ce volumineux coffret le récital Miaskovsky de Lydia Jardon(2). Avec les Sonates n° 2 et 3 – encore post-scriabiniennes par bien des aspects – et la 4ème, il constitue en effet le plus bel enregistrement de piano miaskovskien disponible aujourd’hui et présente de surcroît les trois sonates les plus séduisantes du compositeur parmi les neuf qu’il lègue.
Exceptionnellement abouti, ce CD est l'un des événements discographiques de la rentrée et méritait d’être accompagné d’un récital. Lydia Jardon sera sur la scène du Théâtre de l’Athénée, lundi 28 septembre dans un programme Beethoven-Miaskovsky où la Sonate n° 4 du Russe sera mise en regard de la Sonate n° 31, tandis que la brûlante Sonate n° 2, hantée par le thème du Dies irae, répondra à la fièvre de l’Appassionata. Un programme dont la cohérence et l’équilibre ne font que renforcer l’attrait. »

(1) Pour en savoir plus sur Miaskovsky et nombre d’autres compositeurs, russes mais pas seulement, on consultera avec profit le site des Editions du Chant du Monde : www.chantdumonde.com/fr/editions

(2) Un récital disponible comme tous les enregistrements de Lydia Jardon sous le label AR RE-SE (dist. Codaex) www.lydiajardon.com/discographie_fr.html

concertclassic.com, Septembre 2009, Alain Cochard

education musicale
« Après la publication des Sonates 3 et 4 pour piano de Nikolaï Miaskovsky (cf. notre Lettre d’information, mai 2009), ce CD comprenant, en outre, la deuxième, vient à point nommé, pour permettre aux interprètes de bénéficier des critères d’interprétation retenus par Lydia Jardon. Le compositeur, né en 1881 – l’année de la mort du tsar Alexandre II –, mobilisé en 1914, sera, après la chute du tsar, au service de l’état-major. Ce n’est qu’en 1921 qu’il sera professeur au Conservatoire du Moscou ; en 1948, il subira les persécutions et les contraintes de l’Union des compositeurs. Ses Sonates n°2, en fa# mineur (op.13) et n°3, en ut mineur (op.19), en un seul mouvement enchaîné, ne bénéficient pas d’un mouvement lent central, exploitent des registres extrêmes et tournent parfois à l’obsession, avec citations discrètes du thème du Dies irae (Sonate n°2), spéculant sur les contrastes de mouvements Lento et Allegro. Georges Hallfa les rattache à une « perspective spiritualiste sur l’Homme nouveau, que l’idéologie communiste a considéré sous l’angle matériel ». La Sonate n°4, en ut mineur (op.27), est tripartite : Allegro…, Andante… et Allegro con brio. L’éminente pianiste se joue de tous les traquenards de ces Sonates, grâce à une technique et une énergie à toute épreuve. »

L'Education musicale, Numéro 32, Octobre 2009

lechantdumonde
fcm
fcpp