The label of rare and unpublished repertoires..
fr en
Rachmaninov

Rachmaninov

The Two Piano Sonatas

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
order

Sonata n°1 opus 28 in D minor

1.
Allegro moderato
2.
Lento
3.
Allegro molto

Sonata n°2 opus 36 in B flat minor

4.
Allegro agitato
5.
Non allegro - Lento
6.
L’istesso tempo - Allegro molto

Recorded at Poissy Theatre, on 15, 16 September and on 2nd November 1999

AR RE-SE 2002-4

Fin de siècle : A total opera

The 19th century ended in a mood of restlessness, pregnant with possibilities: in every field the search was on for the style and face to fit the age. Debussy celebrated the first years of the twentieth century with Pelléas et Mélisande. In France “L’Art Nouveau”, in Germany the “Jugendstil” brought forth a world of objects and designs without relief, from whence sprang figures of animals and plants. In painting, fauvism, cubism and futurism lent lustre to a variegated contest between colours and style, a turmoil of bodies transfixed in the moment of expression. In architecture, the building of the Sagrada Familia, the Barcelona cathedral designed by Antonio Gaudi, revealed a religious edifice composed of volcanic shapes set with mineral colours, of rails of hammered iron through which the fabric is woven in multiple convulsions. From 1900 to 1913, the rhythm was universal and sculpture advanced in concert with music. At the moment when the Ballets Russes and their glittering harmonies first burst on Paris, architects and decorators were feeling the initial pangs of what rapidly became a romantic passion for industry and machinery. In 1912 Vienna resounded to Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire and the mysteries of atonal sound. Then came Igor Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, the precursor of jazz, which was to regenerate the period after the Great War and transform percussion into a rhythmic act. The 20th century thus revealed itself like a score in which each voice embodied a singular art taking its place in the universal polyphony. This explains the “musicalist” attempt by Kandinsky and Kupka to create a total opera by painting the music at the point where the scenery would contribute to the balance of the score, and to found a visible link between the body of the painter, on the watch for colour, and that of the musician, perceived as a sound box reverberating with rhythm and melody.

At the time when this era was asserting its character and influence, Rachmaninov was considered a musician of the past, a folklorist of the Russian soul in the tradition of Anton Rubinstein and Tchaikowsky. His determination to defend a romanticism submerged by the rise in atonal music passed for a rearguard action. Did he not denounce Debussy and Prokofiev for their “absence of melody”? He proclaimed that “the heart is in the process of becoming an atrophied organ, it is no longer used and will soon be no more than a simple curiosity”. And yet Rachmaninov adored jazz. In 1924, he was passionately enthusiastic about Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, which he applauded in New York with Stravinsky, Heifetz and Kreisler. In 1915, during a series of concerts devoted to Scriabin, Rachmaninov renewed his contacts with the other aspect of his genius: the art of the piano. He was a leading performer until he was 70. He had an immense physical presence; his fingering was a lesson in interpretation, the best way of exploring his instrumental vision. His hand could stretch intervals of a twelfth without prejudice to a single note. The character of each finger stood out clearly, and every gesture was in perfect accord with the meaning of the music. For Rachmaninov, a successful interpretation must inexorably lead to the point of balance, the central axis of the work on which the structure and the vigour of the score are focused. It is the pianist’s role to build up his performance in order to reveal this point with the utmost naturalness, creating this “germination by the fingers” that fertilises the keyboard, producing a momentum that, in Rachmaninov’s own words, “is like bursting through the tape at the end of a race”.

The music of an “emotional athlete”

The two sonatas composed between 1900 and 1913 are an extravagant example of his pianistic ability and the world of sounds he created. They illustrate the struggle of a composer who is rediscovering his instrument as he brings the art of the piano in line with the spirit of the century. Rachmaninov pushed the instrument to the limits of its possibilities. This is the creation of an “emotional athlete” as defined by Antonin Artaud: a pianist who through composition and interpretation “uses his emotions as the wrestler uses his muscles”.

In these two sonatas, Rachmaninov has often been accused of abandoning simplicity in favour of a riot of effects and a profusion of ornament, but listen to what Lydia Jardon has to say. “In these two works, the performer is confronted with monumental phrases and despite the enormous, over-loaded left hands, he must make them live without getting bogged down in the breakdown of the themes. It is impossible to give everything value without sacrificing the supremacy of the song of the right hand, haunted by a sort of cerebral orientalism. When I began to work, these repetitive phrasings and harmonic obsessions left me perplexed. I wondered how to occupy the exceptional density of the score without creating boredom, since in the second sonata, and still more in the first, the same themes return unceasingly in different tonalities. There are bass notes in these two sonatas which one has to search for right to the farthest notes of the piano. It seemed to me the danger lay in giving them an importance that would damage the cohesion and the sound balance and make the construction noisy rather than expressive. To avoid that, I determined to build up my entire interpretation as a true study of tone.”

Sonata N° 1

Rachmaninov himself found it interminable. The work professes to be a synthesis between the romantic sonata, as composed by Schumann and Chopin and the programmed symphony, modelled on Liszt’s Faust Symphony. From Dresden, he wrote to his friend Morozov that its dimensions were linked to its guiding theme: “Through each movement in turn it is intended to bring forth three contrasting human types: Faust, Marguerite, Mephisto.” He even thought of adapting it into a symphony, but the purely pianistic style of the work resisted orchestration. Jacques Emmanuel Fousnaquer wrote that “this sonata is a body of sound in perpetual ebullition, an absurd and sulphurous poem”, from the middle of which arises the familiar theme of the Dies Irae. Rachmaninov was to use this often during this period in Dresden, where he composed the Second Symphony and the Isle of the Dead, inspired by the picture painted by Arnold Böcklin. The first movement invades the ear like an impromptu fantasy on motifs of fifths and the play of seconds. The second movement closes in on itself, as if Rachmaninov deliberately wanted to erase all thematic contrast in order to withdraw into himself through a closed world of sound. The melody of the theme is based on a play of seconds around a repetitive tonality in the manner of old Russian religious music. The virtuosity of the third movement overwhelms the hearer and destroys all relief. It underlines a slow passage, interwoven by an inexorable pulse-beat, based on a total mastery of polyphony.

Sonata N° 2

Composed in Rome, when he had postponed the orchestration of the Cloches to the following summer, Rachmaninov compared this sonata to Chopin’s second sonata “which lasts nineteen minutes during which it says everything…” It is a direct descendant of the first sonata: the same three-part edifice, the same counterpoint, the same ornamental profusion used to emphasise rhythm. Jacques Emmanuel Fousnaquer again writes: “A strange telluric vigour emanates from the first and third movements, which could well have been Prokofiev’s inspiration for the “war sonatas”. In 1931 Rachmaninov tried to give it a lighter dimension. In 1942 Horowitz made a third version, which was a synthesis of the first two. It is the 1931 version that has been restored for us by Lydia Jardon.

Richard Prieur

The Press covers it !

daiapson
5diapason
« Since the versions of the two sonatas by Weissenberg and Paik are no longer available, the best references for these two works on a single CD are two women performers. Idil Biret has done a good version of these works, although, unfortunately, the sound is a bit harsh. The recording by Lydia Jardon does not suffer from this flaw – anyone who has ever savoured her ample, timbred sonorities in concert will appreciate the fidelity of this recording. Some speak of fingers and effects in Rachmaninoff; Lydia Jardon responds with song and poetry, with a focus on timbre. Rachmaninoff was the first to admit that his Sonata no. 1 had its weak points, and this artist does not ask it to give more than it can, which is why she is able to make it so captivating. There is nothing forced or needlessly spectacular in her concept, just a simplicity that unleashes the Faustian essence of the text and immerses us in a wondrous poetic voyage, where the sense of freedom is never the result of easy abandon. Jardon’s polyphonic sense (just imagine the technique required for this degree of clarity!) imprints a relief and an incessant vibration over the discourse. And it leaves us hoping for a fabulous Sonata no. 2. As we said, gratuitous pyrotechnical demonstrations are not the issue here. The authority used by Lydia Jardon to attack the Allegro agitato is that of a performer who has decided to charm the work with magic, rather than setting it on fire. The fundamental nobility of this approach will satisfy fans of this repertory as much as it will lead detractors to revise their prejudices. The nobility of the middle movement (so many mediocre pianists offer this up as a palette of moonlight-on-the-Nile) speaks eloquently of an interpretation that revises our perceptions of the work. As much as the interpretations of the late Serge Florentino (APR, Diapason d’or), and that’s saying a lot. »

March 2003, Alain Cochard

pianist
« A period of six years (1907 – 1913) separates the two Piano Sonatas by Rachmaninoff (the Russian composer’s only contributions to this genre), and in just a few years, he managed to master the form and the ideas. While the composer considered the First Sonata “interminable,” he compared the next one to Chopin’s Second Sonata, “which lasts for nineteen minutes and says everything.” Breaking with the unity of the whole, and shedding fragmentary light onto the peripheral motifs results in disintegration of the musical piece. Blurring the interconnection between the motifs and the specific heft of each rhythm, leads to the opposite result, which is just as unfortunate. Lydia Jardon has succeeded in avoiding both of these traps, imposing her extraordinary mastery of fingering with a powerful performance that is precise and supple, conducting the musical line while integrating the density of the idea with its corollary of scope and dynamics, as well as the necessary preservation of coherency and sonorous balance, resulting in an accurate, unaffected expression in such places as the slow movements, for example. With music of this sort that is at a constant simmer, Lydia Jardon brings a totally different approach as she joins her illustrious colleagues Weissenberg (Deutsche Grammophon) or the irreplaceable Horowitz (RCA). »

March-April 2003, Olivier Erouart

lemondedelamusique
rec
« Already released in 2000, this record by pianist Lydia Jardon, devoted to the two Rachmaninov sonatas, now appears under the new AR RE-SE label, for whom Jardon henceforth records. Its publication at the time attracted attention (Le Monde de la musique nr 244) due to the soloist’s aptitude to place herself in an expressive optic built of commitment, force and flamboyancy. These qualities render justice to pages of a difficulty of execution reserved for the digital feats of Vladimir Horowitz or of Rachmaninov himself. In fact, the Russian composer restructured his Sonata nr 2 in B flat in 1942 on the advice of the illustrious performer, thus creating a synthesis between the complicated original 1913 work and that of the clearer, 1931 version chosen here by Lydia Jardon. In this page, as in Opus 28 with its paroxysmal outbursts, the pianist shows proof of her ability to crystallise the opposites. Not long ago, Marie-Catherine Girod illustrated in Sonata nr 2 (in its original version) the intensity of a playing submitted to the realities of the construction. Today, Jardon tackles these voluble pieces head on, retaining only the very core. She can be compared to the best performers: Horowitz, Fiorentino, Askhenazy, Ogdon, Wild, Kocsis (for Opus 36), Berezovsky (for Opus 28), Kun-Woo Paik or Weissenberg for the two sonatas. »

February 2003, Michel Le Naour

classica
« A prizewinner of the Milósz Magin competition, Lydia Jardon has not chosen an easy option with this program, usually an exclusively masculine preserve. This is the age of equality and it is particularly pleasant to observe that the lyricism of these "symphonic" pages does not belong solely to the great names, be they Horowitz, Collard, Ashkenazy, Ogdon or Van Cliburn. What is more, Lydia Jardon has something to say to us. First of all, she has a feeling for the timing of a pause, far from easy with the immense First Sonata! She knows where the final progression of the musical phrase is leading and she gives it full resonance without a break in the chords. The piano is round and warm, although a Kawai was not an obvious choice, given the instrument's heaviness of touch but equally the richness of its base notes. In the First Sonata the pianist brings out its most diaphanous colours and her temperament allows her to carry the melody with superb naturalness (Lento). The Second Sonata with its distinct yet supple rhythm is perfectly controlled. Lydia Jardon takes the time to master the score and bring out fully the clarity of the harmonies. The purely heroic aspect is almost relegated to the background (Finale). One feels that the choice of the revised version is justified here because it corresponds to the balance of the interpretation. The additions of the 1913 version would have supplied nothing further to the understanding of a profoundly spiritual and sincere reading. »

Nb 20, march 2000, Maxim Lawrence

amg
« Lydia Jardon here shows herself to be a pianist of profound musicality, sensitivity, enviable talent, and virtuoso technique. Her playing demonstrates several fascinating aspects of interpretation and pianism in these two fiendishly difficult sonatas: super-sensitive handling of tone, coloring, and dynamics, potent projection of mood, elastic tempos, refusal to overplay or bang on the instrument, pearly passagework, and most of all, a poetry, a rare ability to paint Rachmaninoff’s music with a kind of "brushwork" that, for want of a better description, seems reminiscent of the evocative paintings of Turner. All of this coalesces into a canvas that is expressive and captivating. The First Sonata, only seldom performed, requires repeated hearings, for it is a serious, densely textured work. Jardon’s playing of this rather grim, dark piece is ideal, bringing out its latent beauty with great effectiveness. Her approach to the more popular Second Sonata is similar (Rachmaninoff’s revised version of 1931). Although the beautiful playing is very satisfying, in this piece I slightly miss the incomparable temperament of Horowitz, the glowing expressivity of Friedrich Höricke (MDG), and the high-octane brilliance and elan of Scherbakov (Naxos) – all exceptional recordings. Jardon’s recording was made in 1999 in the Theatre de Poissy on a Kawai EX piano, and it deserves a high recommendation, especially because it offers both sonatas. I hope to hear more from this outstanding pianist. »

American Record Guide, Mulbury

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Rachmaninov

Rachmaninov

The Two Piano Sonatas

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
commande

Sonate n°1 opus 28 en ré mineur

1.
Allegro moderato
2.
Lento
3.
Allegro molto

Sonate n°2 opus 36 en si bémol mineur

4.
Allegro agitato
5.
Non allegro - Lento
6.
L’istesso tempo - Allegro molto

Enregistré au Théâtre de Poissy, les 15, 16 Septembre et le 2 Novembre 1999

AR RE-SE 2002-4

Fin de siècle: Un opéra total

Le XlXe Siècle s’achève sur une inquiétude féconde et dans tous les domaines, l’époque se cherche un style et un visage. Debussy célèbre les années 1900 avec Pelléas et Mélisande. L’Art Nouveau en France, le “Jugendstil” en Allemagne enfantent un univers d’objets et de motifs sans relief d’où jaillissent les figures du monde animal et végétal. En peinture, le fauvisme, le cubisme et le futurisme exaltent une lutte bigarrée entre couleurs, graphisme, tumulte des corps cueillis par l’expression. En architecture, la construction de la Sagrada familia, la cathédrale de Barcelone d’Antonio Gaudi, révèle un édifice religieux aux formes volcaniques serties de couleurs minérales, de rampes de fer dinandées que trament les multiples convulsions de la matière.

De 1900 à 1913, le rythme est universel et les arts plastiques cheminent de concert avec la musique. Au moment où déferlent sur Paris les premiers ballets russes et leurs harmonies chatoyantes, l'industrie et la machine captivent les architectes et les décorateurs qui lui vouent aussitôt une passion romantique. En 1912 résonnera à Vienne le Pierrot Lunaire de Schönberg et les mystères sonores de l'atonalité. Viendra enfin le Sacre du Printemps d'Igor Stravinsky, annonciateur du jazz, qui régénèrera l’époque après la Grande Guerre et fera de la percussion un acte rythmique. Le XXe Siècle se dévoile donc tel une partition dont chaque voix incarne un art singulier prenant sa place dans la polyphonie universelle. Ainsi s’explique la tentative “musicaliste” de Kandinsky et Kupka : créer un opéra total en mettant la musique en peinture, là où le décor entre dans l’équilibre de la partition, fonder un lien visible entre le corps du peintre à l’affût des couleurs et celui de l’interprète perçu comme une caisse de résonance où retentissent les rythmes et les mélodies.

A l’heure où cette époque s’affirme et rayonne, Rachmaninov passe pour un musicien du passé, un folkloriste de l’âme russe dans la tradition d’Anton Rubinstein et de Tchaïkovski. Son acharnement à défendre un romantisme submergé par l’atonalité montante passe pour un combat d’arrière-garde. Ne dénonce-t-il pas Debussy et Prokofiev pour “leur absence de mélodie” ? Il proclame que “le coeur est en train de devenir un organe atrophié, qu’on ne l’emploie plus, qu’il ne sera bientôt plus qu’une simple curiosité”. Et pourtant, Rachmaninov adorera le jazz. En 1924, il se passionne pour la Rhapsody in Blue de Gershwin, il l’ovationne à New York avec Stravinsky, Heifetz et Kreisler. En 1915, au cours d’une série de concerts consacrée à Scriabine, Rachmaninov renoue avec l’autre face de son génie : l’art du piano. Jusqu’à 70 ans, il occupera le devant de la scène. C’est une force de la nature dont le doigté est une leçon d’interprétation, le moyen le plus sûr d’explorer sa vision instrumentale. Sa main peut couvrir des intervalles de douzième sans qu’aucune note n’ait à en souffrir. Le caractère de chaque doigt ressort toujours avec clarté, et chaque geste s’incarne en parfait accord avec le sens musical. Pour Rachmaninov, une interprétation réussie doit conduire inexorablement au point d’équilibre de l’oeuvre bâtie autour d’un axe central où se concentrent l’architecture et la vigueur de la partition. Le rôle du pianiste consiste à bâtir son exécution afin de révéler ce point avec le plus grand naturel en suscitant cette “germination des doigts” fécondant le clavier et dont l’élan, selon les propres mots de Rachmaninov, “fait l’effet d’un ruban qui se déchire à la fin d’une course.”

La musique d’un “athlète affectif”

Les deux sonates écrites entre 1900 et 1913 sont un exemple extravagant de son pianisme et de son univers sonore. Elles illustrent la lutte d’un compositeur qui redécouvre son instrument en inscrivant l’art du piano dans le souffle du siècle. Rachmaninov pousse l’instrument aux limites de ses possibilités. C’est la création d’un “athlète affectif” au sens où l’entend Antonin Artaud : un pianiste qui à travers la composition et l’interprétation “se sert de son affectivité comme le lutteur utilise sa musculature”.

Dans ces deux sonates, on a beaucoup accusé Rachmaninov de fuir la simplicité au profit d’une débauche d’effets et d’une profusion ornementale, mais donnons plutôt la parole à Lydia Jardon : “Dans ces deux oeuvres, I’interprète est confronté à des phrases monumentales, et malgré les énormes mains gauches surchargées, il doit les faire vivre sans se noyer dans la décomposition des thèmes. On ne peut tout mettre en valeur sans sacrifier la prépondérance du chant de la main droite hantée par une sorte d’orientalisme cérébral. Au début de mon travail, ces phrasés répétitifs et ces obsessions harmoniques me laissèrent perplexe. Je me suis demandé comment habiter cette densité exceptionnelle de la partition sans engendrer l’ennui alors qu’inlassablement reviennent dans la seconde, et plus encore dans la première, les mêmes thèmes dans des tonalités différentes. Il y a dans ces deux sonates des basses que l’on va chercher jusque dans les dernières notes du piano. Il me semble que le danger serait de leur donner une importance qui nuirait à la cohésion et à l’équilibre sonore et rendrait l’édifice plus bruyant qu’expressif. Pour éviter cela, j’étais résolue à construire l’ensemble de mon interprétation comme une véritable étude de sons.”

Sonate N° 1

Rachmaninov la trouvait lui-même interminable. L’oeuvre se veut synthèse entre la sonate romantique façonnée par Schumann et Chopin et la symphonie à programmes sur le modèle de la Faust Symphonie de Liszt. A Dresde, il écrit à son ami Morozov que ses dimensions sont liées à l’idée directrice : “Il s’agit à travers chaque mouvement de faire surgir tour à tour trois types humains contrastés : Faust, Marguerite, Méphisto.” Il songe même à l’adapter en symphonie, mais le style purement pianistique de l’oeuvre résiste à l’orchestration. Jacques Emmanuel Fousnaquer écrit que “cette sonate est un corps sonore en perpétuelle ébullition, un poème absurde et sulfureux” au milieu duquel surgit le thème familier du Dies Irae. Rachmaninov en fera souvent usage durant cette période de Dresde où il composera la Deuxième Symphonie et l’Ile des Morts inspirée du tableau d’Arnold Böcklin. Le premier mouvement envahit l’oreille comme une fantaisie improvisée sur des motifs de quintes et des jeux de secondes. Le deuxième mouvement se referme sur lui-même comme si Rachmaninov avait volontairement voulu gommer tout contraste thématique pour rentrer en lui-même à travers un monde sonore clos. La mélodie du thème repose sur des jeux de secondes autour d’une tonalité répétitive à la manière de l’ancienne musique religieuse russe. La virtuosité du troisième mouvement submerge l’auditeur et détruit toute forme de relief. Elle souligne une longueur que trame une pulsation inexorable fondée sur la maîtrise totale de la polyphonie.

Sonate N° 2

Composée à Rome alors qu’il avait remis à l’été suivant l’orchestration des Cloches, Rachmaninov comparait cette sonate à la deuxième sonate de Chopin “qui dure dix-neuf minutes et où tout est dit…” Elle se situe dans la lignée de la première sonate : même édifice en trois parties, même contrepoint, même profusion ornementale mise au service du rythme. Jacques Emmanuel Fousnaquer écrit encore : "Une étrange vigueur tellurique se dégage du premier et du troisième mouvement, et dont pourrait bien découler le Prokofiev des “sonates de guerre.” En 1931, Rachmaninov essaya de lui donner une version plus aérienne. Horowitz réalisa en 1942 une troisième version, laquelle consistait en une synthèse des deux premières. C’est la version de 1931 que nous restitue Lydia Jardon.

Richard Prieur

La presse en parle !

diapason
5diapason
« Les versions des deux sonates par Weissenberg et Paik n'étant plus disponibles, les grandes références pour ces deux opus en un seul CD sont l'oeuvre de deux interprètes féminines. Idil Biret a en effet signé une belle version de ces ouvrages, hélas ! desservie par une prise de son assez dure. L'enregistrement de Lydia Jardon ne peut être pris en faute sur ce point : qui a pu savourer en concert sa sonorité ample et timbrée sait combien le micro lui est ici fidèle. Certains parlent doigts et effets dans Rachmaninov ; Lydia Jardon leur répond par le chant, la poésie, l'attention aux timbres. De la Sonate no 1 — qui n'est pas sans faiblesses, Rachmaninov était le premier à en convenir — l'artiste n'exige pas plus que cet opus ne saurait offrir et c'est pourquoi elle captive tant. Rien de forcé, d'inutilement spectaculaire dans sa conception, mais une simplicité qui libère l'essence faustienne du texte et nous plonge dans un merveilleux voyage poétique — où le sentiment de liberté n'est jamais fruit d'un abandon facile. Le sens polyphonique de Lydia Jardon (quelle technique faut-il pour aboutir à pareille clarté !) imprime un relief, une incessante vibration au discours... et laisse espérer une fabuleuse Sonate no 2... On l'a dit : la démonstration pyrotechnique gratuite n'est pas le sujet ici. L'autorité avec laquelle Lydia Jardon attaque l'Allegro agitato est celle d'une interprète qui a décidé de charmer — au sens magique du terme — l'ouvrage plutôt que d'y déclencher un incendie. La foncière noblesse de cette approche comblera l'amoureux de ce répertoire, autant qu'elle conduira ses détracteurs à réviser nombre de préjugés. La noblesse du mouvement médian (tant de broyeurs d'ivoire offrent ici un chromo clair-de-lune-au-bord-du-Nil), en dit long sur une interprétation qui renouvelle notre perception de l'oeuvre. Autant qu'avait su le faire celle du regretté Sergio Florentino (APR, Diapason d'or), c'est dire... »

Mars 2003, Alain Cochard

pianiste
« Six années (1907-1913) séparent les deux Sonates pour piano de Rachmaninov (les uniques contributions au genre du compositeur russe), et en peu d'années, il sera parvenu à une maîtrise de la forme et des idées. Si le compositeur trouvait la Première Sonate "interminable", il comparait la suivante à la Deuxième Sonate de Chopin "qui dure dix-neuf minutes et où tout est dit". Rompre l'unité de l'ensemble, éclairer de façon trop fragmentaire les motifs périphériques conduit à désintégrer la partition. Estomper l'enchevêtrement des motifs, la carrure spécifique de chaque rythme, conduit au résultat inverse non moins préjudiciable. Deux écueils évités par Lydia Jardon qui s'impose par une extraordinaire maîtrise digitale, par une puissance de jeu précis et souple, et par une conduite de la ligne musicale intégrant la densité de la pensée avec pour corollaire l'ampleur de la dynamique et la nécessité de préserver la cohérence, l'équilibre sonore au profit de l'expression juste sans afféterie dans les mouvements lents par exemple. Avec une telle musique aussi éruptive,"en perpétuelle ébullition", Lydia Jardon rejoint avec une approche somme toute différente ses illustres confrères Weissenberg (Deutsche Grammophon) ou encore l'irremplaçable Horowitz (RCA). »

Mars-avril 2003, Olivier Erouart

lemondedelamusique
rec
« Déjà paru en 2000, ce disque consacré aux deux sonates de Rachmaninov par la pianiste Lydia Jardon paraît sous le nouveau label AR RE-SE, sous lequel celle-ci enregistre désormais. Sa publication avait à l'époque attiré l'attention (Le Monde de la musique n° 244) par l'aptitude de la soliste à se placer dans une optique expressive faite d'engagement, de puissance, et de flamboiement. Ces qualités rendaient justice à des pages d'une difficulté d'exécution réservée aux prouesses digitales de Vladimir Horowitz ou de Rachmaninov lui-même. D'ailleurs le compositeur russe remodela sa Sonate n° 2 en si bémol mineur en 1942 sur les conseils de l'illustre interprète, réalisant ainsi une synthèse entre la version originelle complexe de 1913 et celle, plus claire, de 1931 choisie ici par Lydia Jardon. Dans cette page, comme dans l'Opus 28 aux éclats paroxystiques, celle-ci fait preuve d'une capacité à cristalliser les contraires. Naguère, Marie-Catherine Girod avait montré dans la Sonate n° 2 (dans sa version originale ) l'intensité d'un jeu soumis aux réalités de la construction. Aujourd'hui, Jardon prend à bras-le-corps ces pièces volubiles pour n'en garder que la moelle. Elle peut se comparer aux meilleurs interprètes : Horowitz, Fiorentino, Askhenazy, Ogdon, Wild, Kocsis (pour l'Opus 36), Berezovsky (pour l'Opus 28), Kun-Woo Paik ou encore Weissenberg pour les deux sonates. »

Février 2003, Michel Le Naour

classica
« Lauréate du concours Milosz Magin, Lydia Jardon n'a pas choisi la facilité avec ce programme d'ordinaire presque exclusivement réservé aux hommes. L'époque est à la parité et il est particulièrement agréable de constater que le lyrisme de ces pages "symphoniques" n'appartient pas qu'aux seules stars, se nomment-elles Horowitz, Collard, Ashkenazy, Ogdon, Van Cliburn ? Car Lydia Jardon a de surcroît des choses à nous dire. Tout d'abord, elle possède le sens de la durée dans la respiration, ce qui n'est guère aisé dans l'immense Première Sonate ! Elle sait où mène la progression ultime de la phrase musicale et elle lui donne toute la résonance sans briser les accords. Le piano est rond, chaleureux, le choix d'un Kawai n'étant pas évident quand on sait la lourdeur du toucher, mais également la richesse des basses de l'instrument. De la Première Sonate, la pianiste tire les couleurs les plus diaphanes et son tempérament lui laisse porter le chant avec un superbe naturel (Lento). La Seconde Sonate est parfaitement maîtrisée dans son rythme à la fois tranché et souple. Lydia Jardon prend le temps de s'approprier la partition pour en faire ressortir toute la limpidité des harmonies. L'aspect purement héroïque passe presque au second plan (Finale). On se dit que l'interprétation de la version révisée est un choix qui se justifie ici car il correspond à l'équilibre de l'interprétation. Les ajouts de la version de 1913 n'auraient rien apporté de plus à la compréhension d'une lecture profondément animée et secrète. »

No 20, mars 2000, Maxim Lawrence

amg
« La pianiste Lydia Jardon fait preuve ici d’une musicalité et d’une sensibilité profondes, d’un talent enviable et d’une technique virtuose. Son jeu met en avant nombre d’aspects fascinants de l’interprétation et de la technique pianistique dans ces deux Sonates d’une difficulté redoutable : traitement extrêmement sensible du ton, de la couleur et de la dynamique, puissante projection des modes, tempi souples, refus de trop en faire ou de cogner sur l’instrument, transitions perlées et, surtout, une poésie, une rare capacité à peindre la musique de Rachmaninov avec une sorte de «coup de pinceau» qui, faute d’une meilleure description, semble rappeler les tableaux évocateurs de Turner. Tout ceci se condense en une toile qui est expressive et captivante. La Première sonate, qui n’est que rarement jouée, réclame plus d’une écoute, car c’est une œuvre sérieuse, à la texture dense. Lydia Jardon joue idéalement ce morceau lugubre et sombre, mettant en évidence sa beauté latente avec une grande efficacité. Son approche de la plus populaire Deuxième Sonate est similaire (il s’agit de la version de 1931, révisée par Rachmaninov) (...) Le beau jeu est très satisfaisant (...) Effectué par Lydia Jardon en 1999 au Théâtre de Poissy sur un piano Kawai EX, cet enregistrement mérite une mention particulière, notamment parce qu’il offre les deux sonates. J’espère avoir l’occasion de réentendre cette remarquable pianiste. »

American Record Guide, Mulbury