The label of rare and unpublished repertoires...
fr en
Scriabin

Alexander Scriabin

Complete Etudes

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
order

Etude, opus 2 n°1

1.
Etude, opus 2 n°1

12 Etudes, opus 8

2.
Allegro
3.
A capriccio, con forza
4.
Tempestoso
5.
Piacevole
6.
Brioso
7.
Con grazia
8.
Presto tenebroso, agitato
9.
Lento (Tempo rubato)
10.
Alla ballata
11.
Allegro
12.
Allegro
13.
Patetico

8 Etudes, opus 42

14.
Presto
15.
Prestissimo
16.
Andante2
17.
Affanato
18.
Esalatato
19.
Agitato
20.
Allegro

Etude, opus 49 n°1

21.
Etude, opus 49 n°1

Etude, opus 56 n°4

22.
Etude, opus 56 n°4

Etudes, opus 65

23.
Allegro fantastico
24.
Allegretto
25.
Molto vivace


Total playing time: 48’25
Production, Sound Engineer: Jean-Marc Laisné.
Technicien: Albert Diringer.
Piano: Bösendorfer.
Recorded in Charrat Muses, Switzerland, 19-20 December 2005.
Booklet: André Lischke.

AR RE-SE 2006-1

On the verge of the ineffable: Scriabin’s Etudes, between poetry and virtuosity

Born in 1872, dead in 1915 at the early age of 43, Alexandr Scriabin was a schoolmate of Rachmaninov at the Moscow Conservatory, where he worked on theory and composition with Serge Taneiev and Anton Arenski, and on piano with Vassili Safonov. He taught there himself from 1898 to 1905. His life was broken up into sometimes rather long trips and stays abroad. Between 1904 and 1908 he lived in France, Switzerland, Belgium and the United States. In 1907 he participated in the Diaghilev concerts in Paris alongside many of his Russian elders and contemporaries (Rimski-Korsakov, Glazounov, Rachmaninov, Blumenfeld). In Brussels, he frequented theosophic circles where he found similar ideas to his own, being himself passionate about spiritualist philosophy and striving to experience a mystical revelation – typical attitudes of Russian symbolism during his time; the same goes for his theories about the relationship between sounds and colors, that he experiments with in his symphonic poem Prometheus or the Poem of Fire where a “keyboard of lights” projects rays of colors on a screen that are supposed to correspond to the harmonies heard at the same time. The evolution of Scriabin’s musical language directly relates to the whole of his research and his aspirations: to exacerbate perception by giving maximum intensity to frequency vibrations, creating harmonies that had been unusual so far (even though we can find early traces of this with Wagner and especially in Liszt’s late works) and that progressively abandon classic tonality in favor of a system that stretches far into the 20th century sound research. This would notably be elaborated on by the Russian avant-garde of the 1920s with Nikolaï Roslavets at the helm.

Moreover, Scriabin appears as an exception among Russian composers by his double refusal to resort to folklore and to orientalism (both of which represented two powerful pillars of Russian music) as well as by his disinterest in vocal music for the exclusive benefit of piano and orchestra.

Following in the legacy of the styles of Chopin and of Liszt, Scriabin worked abundantly with the small form by creating a series of preludes, etudes, mazurkas, and various other pieces. But he is also the one who ressurrected the sonata, which had been used little since the mid-19th century, with ten works that take him from the form with many movements to the one-piece poem.

Scriabin’s etudes, regrouped in sets, except for some pieces that are isolated or integrated into other collections, mark out the main stages of his life and language. Like the etudes Chopin wrote, and also like the ones Debussy was to write soon thereafter, they each are generally constructed after a technical and/or expressive, paraphrased and developed formula. Scriabin uses as much finger as wrist virtuosity, multiplying the quick and perilous jumps, the staccati and the hammering, the arpeggi and the long-stretched chords (even though he himself had small hands!), and strengthening the difficulties with the stacking of different rhythmic values (for example quintuplets on one hand and triplets on the other); this polyrhythmics of Scriabin’s is related to the complexity of his harmony; both tend to break with the established boundaries. Next to this are a few remarkable studies which are, on the contrary, as with Chopin, not dedicated to technique but to sound quality, phrasing, and the highlighting of harmonic metamorphoses.

It is precisely one of these non virtuoso pieces that chronologically begins the list of Scriabin’s etudes. The Andante in C sharp minor, op.2 N°1 (the first of a small tryptic where it is followed by a Prelude and an Impromptu), with a gravity that would link it more to a nocturn, or better yet, to a meditation, dates from 1887. The composer is then a fifteen-year old and knowing this one is even more struck by the promising richness in his harmonies.

Seven years later (1894), the set of twelve Études op.8 is the work of a young master already well into his first creative period. Meanwhile, his ten Mazurkas op.3, the Allegro appassionato op.4, and his first -sonata op.6 were composed. A cycle that directly sets the question of his tonal choices. We can observe here two particularities. Firstly, an equal number of pieces in major and in minor, although without a principle of alternance. In addition, Scriabin begins, for the first six etudes, to follow the fifths circle backwards (C sharp, F sharp, B minor then B major, E, A), the tonal order becoming freer after the 7th.

After the first etude Allegro, well-rhythmed and light at the same time, where triplets bounce off of their two first repeated chords, passing from the right hand to the left hand and adorned with counterpoints, the second, indicated A capriccio, con forza, is of a polyrhythmical character but its indication also reminds us that these traceries should not be vague but, on the contrary, should underscore their irregularity; the character of the piece is additionally accentuated by some astonishingly hispanic turns which are an exception for Scriabin. The swell of the third Tempestoso, which works both hands in shifted octaves, around the pivot of the index, successively brings to the surface a frenzied dance rhythm, then a soothing cantilena. Once again a constant polyrhythmics in the N°4 Piacevole, but woven in a finer and more lyrical way than in the N°2. One of the most seductive of the cycle, N°5 Brioso in E major, with very Chopinian accents, demands quick and light shifting before narrowing in on triplets in the second part. We remain in Chopin’s wake with the 6th Con grazia, which features a series of sixths on the right hand. The tense N°7 Presto tenebroso, agitato, is an etude for the left hand, with broken arpeggio triplets covering large intervals and letting the right hand chords fall on the last note; the central part is slower and lets out a choral blurred by muted grumblings of octaves in the bass tone. Some respite comes with the Lento of the 8th in A flat major, an etude on harmonies where the chords are ornated with more animated and connected lines in the last part which is written in the guise of a variation. The culmination of the cycle is the 9th Alla ballata in D sharp minor, whose execution is ruthless on the wrist, where everything is in leaps and in cascades of octaves and chords, as perilous in terms of precision as for the athletic endurance they require; as in the N°7, the central episode is in a choral form and its rhythm is accentuated by the anticipation of the bass part.

The 10th etude Allegro is hardly easier but works difficulties of another nature, a race of thirds with the right hand and immense strides with the left hand. It is interesting to compare it to the etudes also devoted to thirds by Chopin (op.25 N°6) and by Debussy (N°2)… A second meditative pause is provided by the N°11 in B flat minor Andante cantabile, whose melody, with its first interpolation that finishes on a fourth, prompted certain Russian musicologists to comparisons with popular song intonations, a feature that is, however, unusual for Scriabin. The crowning achievement is the famous Étude in D sharp minor Patetico, a brief epic ballad where once again comparisons with Chopin surface, evoking both his Révolutionnaire etude and his 24th Prelude in D minor.

Just as important for their place in Scriabin’s work as the preceding cycle, the eight Études op.42 date from 1903 and immediately precede the 3rd symphony Divine Poem in his catalogue. Noteworthy here are an evolution in language accentuating the harmonic and dynamic processes previously observed, a lesser presence of Chopin’s legacy, but sometimes, nevertheless, a flashback expressing itself in beautiful melodic inspirations of the purest 19th century character.

The rhythmic superpositions which are the author’s signature are found again in the N°1 Presto (D flat major). In a 3/4 time signature, the right hand plays eighth-note triplets and the left hand quarter-note quintuplets, all of which are on large intervals, with returns of accidental notes on natural notes. The very brief N°2 is peculiar in that it lacks any verbal tempo indication, replaced by a simple metronomic indication: 112 beats per minute (quarter notes); a motive that starts with a dotted rhythm adds itself to left-hand quintuplets. By its enigmatic laconicism this page seems to announce Prokofiev’s upcoming Fugitive Visions. Also very short, but because of its speed (Prestissimo, F sharp major), the N°3 is often nicknamed “the Gnat”: a shudder of measured trills, swapped between both hands, constantly remaining in the treble scale of the keyboard, with an impalpable finesse in texture – a true chiseled gem! With the N°4, which remains in the same tonality, we come across one of Scriabin’s few lyrical etudes (Andante), situated by their contents between a romance and a nocturn. A welcome respite before attacking the N°5 (Affanato, in C sharp minor), the absolute summit of the cycle and maybe of all of the etudes of the master, who played it frequently in his performances. (Allegretto). It is an authentic poem and actually more than an etude in the pedagogical sense of the term. Above a grumbling of arpeggi looms an uneasy, abrupt, obsessional theme that occasionally flies away. As a response, a magnificent melody rises up, vibrant and passionate, and the emotional atmosphere it creates suddenly brings Scriabin closer to his schoolmate, younger than he by one year, Sergei Rachmaninov; this feeling is further reinforced by the varied reexposition with an increased sound density and the bell ring effect brought on by the powerful chord swaying in the bass part. The 6th etude (Esaltato, D flat major) seems to contain, in the contours of its theme, some reminiscences of the previous as well as of the second etude of this collection. The 7th (Agitato, F minor) is once again a short page, probably less remarkable in musical terms and more specifically didactic: a continuous formula of arpeggi in up-and-down sixteenth notes on the left hand, and another difficulty on the right hand, where triplets challenge finger spread (alternatively two-five, thumb) around sixth intervals. The last etude (Allegro, E flat major), in ABA form, begins as an impromptu; between two parts of a quick and repetitive movement, the central episode suddenly offers the contrast of a choral, evolving towards a very vocal melodic declamation, with a phrase that seems to come from a solemn opera arioso.

As though lost among two opuses that bring together variously named pieces are the two very short Études op.49 N°1 (1905) and op.56 N°4 (1908). The first, without an indication of tempo but marked 152 beats per minute (quarter notes), provides an exceptional, rigorous homophony between both hands, on spasmodic cells of abridged triplets (two notes followed by silence). The second, Presto, of a rather simple conception, is a race punctuated with jumps and rhythmed with chords that demand the execution of quick arpeggi.

The final delivery of Scriabin’s etudes plunge us into the heart of his last period. After his symphonic poem Prometheus (1910), he only writes for the piano. The three Études op.65, finished in 1912, are peculiar in that each are composed after an interval, the ninth, the seventh, and the fifth, respectively. The first is one of the most dreaded because of the tension that it creates in the extensor muscles. It is a known fact that its series of ninths made it unperformable for its author, whose hands were too small! It provides a constant irregularity of the discourse (a rather usual thing for Scriabin), alternating vertiginious surges and bursts with slowed-down passages and stops on chords. A certain lightening comes with the 2nd etude, maintained for the most part on piano nuances, but harmonically just as harsh due to the omnipresent major seventh. The whole cycle can be compared to a brief sonata in three movements, with an initial Allegro, a second movement (Allegretto) in half-tones, then a Molto vivace finale, whose whirlpools presently conjure up a mighty energy, in leaps and in broken chords, which once again recalls how much the fire element has always been organically linked to Scriabin’s nature.

André Lischke
Translation: Jennifer Arenson-Escorcia

The press covers it !

obs
« Like all artists, Lydia Jardon is an expert of the most difficult superpositions. She is at home with Scriabin, just as she was with Debussy’s “La Mer” (a piano solo version!): a stacking of timbres, colours, rhythms and expressions. Her passion, her suppleness, her enthusiasm and her devilish technique fit well with these pieces that are always a little feverish and ill-sounding. How is it possible to be so volcanic while being in control? And to keep a free wrist in such burning effusions? It’s a mystery... »

Le Nouvel Observateur, 20th april 2006, Jacques Drillon

lemonde
rec
« From the first measure of the Opus 2 No.1, one is convinced by the exceptional commitment of the line. Lydia Jardon has a sound of her own, a quite exceptionally generous and lyrical one. She “electrifies” each note, makes it a strong human voice, to the point that the lyricism is everywhere, except maybe where one would expect it since when such an expressive commitment is vested upon each note, the traditional climax has to seem less “committed”. Thus in the beginning of the famous Etude op. 42 No.5, which other pianists play in a rather discrete way, there is an underlying “insistent voice”. When the culminating theme finally comes, Lydia Jardon plays it as a sentimental yet sotto voce ritornello, with a contained lyricism, as though reminiscent of a past where it was a poignant but already muffled memory. The detached notes might not always possess maximal clarity, but that is not the point here. When the piece requires a more staccato counterpoint, this staccato turns into a wandering vocal strangeness, as in Opus 42 No.3. It is felicitous that the pianist has been able to keep such a passionate and natural touch, worlds away from the usual domestications. »

Le Monde de la Musique, May 2006, Jacques Amblard

Le label des répertoires rares et inédits...
fr en
Scriabin

Alexander Scriabin

Complete Etudes

Lydia Jardon, piano

play
pause
commande

Etude, opus 2 n°1

1.
Etude, opus 2 n°1

12 Etudes, opus 8

2.
Allegro
3.
A capriccio, con forza
4.
Tempestoso
5.
Piacevole
6.
Brioso
7.
Con grazia
8.
Presto tenebroso, agitato
9.
Lento (Tempo rubato)
10.
Alla ballata
11.
Allegro
12.
Allegro
13.
Patetico

8 Etudes, opus 42

14.
Presto
15.
Prestissimo
16.
Andante2
17.
Affanato
18.
Esalatato
19.
Agitato
20.
Allegro

Etude, opus 49 n°1

21.
Etude, opus 49 n°1

Etude, opus 56 n°4

22.
Etude, opus 56 n°4

Etudes, opus 65

23.
Allegro fantastico
24.
Allegretto
25.
Molto vivace


Durée totale : 48’25
Production, Ingénieur du son :
Jean-Marc Laisné.
Technicien : Albert Diringer.
Piano : Bösendorfer.
Enregistré à Charrat Muses, Suisse,
19-20 décembre 2005.
Livret : André Lischke.

AR RE-SE 2006-1

À l’orée de l’ineffable : les Études de Scriabine, entre poésie et virtuosité

Né en 1872, mort prématurément en 1915 à 43 ans, Alexandre Scriabine fut le condisciple de Rachmaninov au Conservatoire de Moscou, où il travailla la théorie et la composition avec Serge Taneiev et Anton Arenski, et le piano avec Vassili Safonov. Il y enseigna lui-même de 1898 à 1905. Sa vie fut entrecoupée de voyages et de séjours, parfois assez longs, à l’étranger. Entre 1904 et 1908 il vécut en France, en Suisse, en Belgique et aux USA. Il participa en 1907 aux concerts de Diaghilev à Paris, aux côtés de plusieurs de ses aînés et contemporains russes (Rimski-Korsakov, Glazounov, Rachmaninov, Blumenfeld). A Bruxelles il fréquenta les milieux théosophiques, avec lesquels il se trouva une communauté d’idées, étant lui-même passionné par les philosophies spiritualistes et s’efforçant d’accéder à une révélation mystique, attitudes représentatives du symbolisme russe à son époque ; il en va de même de ses théories entre le rapport des sons et des couleurs, qu’il expérimenta dans son poème symphonique Prométhée ou le Poème du feu, où un « clavier de lumières » doit projeter sur un écran des rayons de couleurs censées correspondre aux harmonies entendues simultanément. L’évolution du langage musical de Scriabine est en rapport direct avec l’ensemble de ses recherches et de ses aspirations : exacerber la perception par une intensification maximale des vibrations de fréquences, en élaborant des harmonies jusque là inusitées (bien qu’on puisse en trouver des prémices directs chez Wagner et surtout dans les dernières œuvres de Liszt), qui abandonnent progressivement la tonalité classique au profit d’un système qui regarde loin en direction des recherches sonores du 20e siècle. Celles-ci seront notamment prolongées par l’avant-garde russe des années 1920, avec Nikolaï Roslavets en tête.

Scriabine constitue par ailleurs une exception parmi les compositeurs russes, par son double refus du recours au folklore et à l’orientalisme, qui étaient deux des lignes de force de la musique russe, de même que par son désintérêt pour la musique vocale au profit des seuls piano et orchestre.

Parti d’un style directement hérité de Chopin et de Liszt, Scriabine a abondamment pratiqué la petite forme, en produisant des séries de préludes, études, mazurkas, et pièces diverses. Mais il est aussi celui qui a redonné vie à la sonate, peu pratiquée depuis le milieu du 19e siècle, avec dix œuvres évoluant depuis la forme en plusieurs mouvements vers celle du poème écrit d’un seul tenant.

Les études de Scriabine, regroupées en séries, hormis quelques pièces isolées ou intégrées à d’autres recueils, jalonnent les principales étapes de sa vie et de son langage. A l’instar de celles de Chopin, et bientôt de Debussy, elles sont généralement construites chacune à partir d’une formule technique et/ou expressive, paraphrasée et développée. Scriabine use autant de la virtuosité digitale que de celle du poignet, multipliant les sauts rapides et périlleux, les staccati et les martèlements, les arpèges et les accords à grands écarts (alors qu’il avait lui-même de petites mains !), et corsant les difficultés par les superpositions de valeurs rythmiques différentes (par exemple quintolets à une main et triolets à l’autre) ; cette polyrythmie scriabinienne va dans le même sens que la complexité de son harmonie, tendant à rompre les cadres établis. À côté de cela, quelques études peu nombreuses mais remarquables sont au contraire, de même que chez Chopin, consacrées non à la technique mais à la qualité des sonorités, du phrasé et de la mise en valeur des métamorphoses harmoniques.

C’est précisément par une de ces pièces non virtuoses que débute chronologiquement la liste des études de Scriabine. Cet Andante en ut # mineur, op.2 N°1 (premier d’un petit tryptique où il est suivi d’un Prélude et d’un Impromptu), que sa gravité apparenterait plutôt à un nocturne, ou mieux encore à une méditation, est daté de 1887. Le compositeur est donc un adolescent de quinze ans, et sachant cela on est d’autant plus frappé par la richesse prometteuse de ses harmonies.

Sept ans plus tard (1894), la série des douze Études op.8 est l’œuvre d’un jeune maître déjà bien engagé dans la première période sa vie créatrice. Entre-temps ont été composés notamment les dix Mazurkas op.3, l’Allegro appassionato op.4 et surtout la 1re Sonate op.6. Un cycle qui pose d’emblée la question de son parcours tonal. On peut observer ici deux particularités, tout d’abord un nombre égal de pièces en majeur et en mineur, quoique sans principe d’alternance, et d’autre part que Scriabine commence, pour les six premières, à suivre le cercle des quintes à rebours, (ut #, fa #, si mineur puis si majeur, mi, la), l’ordre tonal devenant plus libre à partir de la 7e.

Après la 1re étude Allegro, à la fois bien rythmée et légère, où des triolets rebondissent sur leurs deux premiers accords répétés, passant de la main droite à la main gauche et sertis de contre-chants, la 2e, indiquée A capriccio, con forza, est toute en polyrythmie mais son indication rappelle aussi que ces entrelacs ne doivent pas être flous mais au contraire mettre leur irrégularité en relief ; le caractère de la pièce est en outre accentué par quelques tournures étonnamment hispanisantes, qui sont une exception chez Scriabine. La houle de la 3e Tempestoso, qui fait travailler les deux mains en octaves décalées, autour du pivot de l’index, fait surgir successivement un rythme de danse endiablée puis une cantilène apaisante. Polyrythmie constante à nouveau dans le N°4 Piacevole, mais en guirlandes plus fines et lyriques que dans le N°2. L’une des plus séduisantes du cycle, N°5 Brioso en mi majeur, aux accents très chopiniens, exige des déplacements rapides et aériens, avant de se resserrer dans sa seconde partie sur des triolets. On reste dans le sillage de Chopin avec la 6e Con grazia, en enchaînements de sixtes à la main droite. L’angoissante N°7 Presto tenebroso, agitato, est une étude pour la main gauche, avec des triolets d’arpèges brisés, embrassant de grands intervalles, et faisant tomber les accords de la main droite sur la dernière note ; la partie centrale, plus lente, fait entendre un choral brouillé par de sourds grondements d’octaves dans le grave. Repos avec le Lento de la 8e en la bémol majeur, une étude sur les harmonies, dont les accords s’ornent de lignes plus liées et animées dans la dernière partie qui fait figure de variation. La culmination du cycle est la 9e Alla ballata, en ré # mineur, impitoyable pour le poignet de l’exécutant, où tout est en bonds et en cascades d’octaves et d’accords, aussi périlleux pour la précision que par l’endurance athlétique qu’ils requièrent ; comme dans le N°7, l’épisode central est en choral, au rythme accentué par l’anticipation de la basse.

La 10e étude Allegro n’est guère plus aisée, mais fait travailler des difficulté d’une autre nature, courses de tierces à la main droite et immenses enjambées à la main gauche. On peut se plaire à la comparer avec les études pareillement consacrées aux tierces par Chopin (op.25 N°6) et par Debussy (N°2)... Une seconde pause méditative est aménagée avec le N°11 en si bémol mineur Andante cantabile, dont la mélodie, avec la chute de quarte de sa première incise, a suscité chez certains musicologues russes des comparaisons avec des intonations de chant populaire, pourtant inhabituelles chez Scriabine. Et le couronnement est la célèbre étude en ré # mineur Patetico, brève ballade épique où de nouveau des comparaisons avec Chopin surgissent, évoquant à la fois son étude Révolutionnaire et son 24e prélude en ré mineur.

Aussi importantes par leur place dans l’œuvre de Scriabine que le cycle précédent, les huit Études op.42 datent de 1903, et précèdent immédiatement dans son catalogue la 3e symphonie Divin Poème. On y observe une évolution du langage, qui accentue les procédés harmoniques et dynamiques observés précédemment, une moindre présence de l’héritage de Chopin, mais parfois, néanmoins, un regard en arrière s’exprimant dans de belles inspirations mélodiques du meilleur 19e siècle.

Le N°1 Presto (ré bémol majeur) retrouve les superpositions de rythmes qui sont la signature de l’auteur. Dans une mesure à 3/4 la main droite joue en triolets de croches et la main gauche en quintolets de noires, le tout sur de larges intervalles, avec des retours de notes altérées sur des notes naturelles. Le très bref N°2 offre la particularité de n’avoir aucune précision verbale de tempo, remplacée par une simple indication métronomique : 112 à la noire ; sur des quintolets à la main gauche se greffe un motif amorcé par un rythme pointé. Par son laconisme énigmatique cette page semble annoncer les prochaines Visions fugitives de Prokofiev. Très court également, mais du fait de sa rapidité (Prestissimo, fa # majeur), le N°3 est parfois surnommé « le Moucheron » : un frémissement de trilles mesurés, échangés entre les deux mains, restant constamment dans l’aigu du clavier, dans une finesse impalpable de la texture – un véritable joyau ciselé ! Avec le N°4, qui reste dans la même tonalité, on retrouve l’une des quelques études lyriques de Scriabine (Andante), que leur teneur situe entre la romance et le nocturne. Répit bien venu avant d’attaquer le N°5 (Affanato, ut # mineur), sommet absolu du cycle et peut-être de toutes les études du maître, qui la jouait fréquemment dans ses récitals. (Allegretto) . C’est un authentique poème, voire plus qu’une étude dans le sens pédagogique du terme. Au-dessus d’un grondement d’arpèges se profile un thème inquiet, heurté, obsessionnel, s’échappant dans quelques envolées. En réponse une magnifique mélodie s’élève, vibrante, passionnée, et le climat émotionnel qu’elle crée rapproche soudain Scriabine de son condisciple, son cadet d’un an, Serge Rachmaninov ; cette impression est encore renforcée par la réexposition variée, avec une augmentation de la densité sonore et l’effet sons de cloches du puissant balancement d’accords dans le grave. La 6e étude (Esaltato, ré bémol majeur) semble comporter dans les contours de son thème quelques réminiscences , tant de la précédente que de la 2e de ce recueil. La 7e (Agitato, fa mineur) est de nouveau une page courte, sans doute moins remarquable musicalement, et plus spécifiquement didactique : une formule continue d’arpèges, en doubles croches descendantes-montantes à la main gauche, et une autre difficulté à la main droite, où des triolets font travailler l’écartement des doigts (alternativement deux-cinq, pouce) autour des intervalles de sixte. La dernière étude (Allegro, mi bémol majeur) de forme ABA, débute à la manière d’un impromptu ; entre deux volets d’un mouvement rapide et répétitif, l’épisode central offre soudain le contraste d’un choral, évoluant vers une déclamation mélodique très vocale, avec une phrase qui semble sortie d’un hiératique arioso d’opéra.

Comme égarées parmi deux opus qui rassemblent des pièces d’appellations diverses, se trouvent les deux très courtes Études op.49 N°1 (1905) et op.56 N°4 (1908). La première, sans indication de tempo mais marquée 152 à la noire, offre l’exception d’une rigoureuse homophonie entre les deux mains, sur des cellules spasmodiques de triolets abrégés (deux notes suivies d’un silence). La seconde, Presto, d’une conception assez simple, est une course ponctuée de sursauts et rythmée par des accords obligeant à de rapides arpeggi.

L’ultime livraison d’études de Scriabine nous plonge au coeur de sa dernière période. Après son poème symphonique Prométhée (1910) il n’écrit plus que pour le piano. Les trois Études op.65, achevées en 1912, offrent la particularité d’être composées chacune à partir d’un intervalle, respectivement la neuvième, la septième et la quinte. La première est l’une des plus redoutées en raison de la tension qu’elle fait subir aux muscles extenseurs. On sait que ses enchaînements de neuvièmes la rendaient inexécutable pour son auteur, qui avait les mains trop petites ! Elle offre, chose assez courante chez Scriabine, une irrégularité constante du discours, alternant des élans vertigineux et des jaillissements avec des ralentis et des arrêts sur des accords. Un certain allègement est apporté par la 2e étude, majoritairement maintenue sur des nuances piano, mais harmoniquement tout aussi âpre, du fait de l’omniprésence de la 7e majeure. L’ensemble du cycle peut s’apparenter à une brève sonate en trois mouvements, avec un Allegro initial, un second mouvement (Allegretto) en demi-teintes, puis un finale Molto vivace, dont les virevoltes ne tardent pas à libérer une puissance d’énergie, en bondissements et accords battus, qui rappelle une fois de plus combien l’élément feu a toujours été organiquement lié à la nature de Scriabine.

André Lischke

La presse en parle !

obs
« Comme tous les artistes, Lydia Jardon est une spécialiste des superpositions les plus délicates. Avec Scriabine, comme naguère avec le Debussy de "La Mer" (au piano solo !), elle est chez elle : empilement de timbres, de couleurs, de rythmes, d'expressions. Sa fougue, sa souplesse, son emportement et sa technique d'enfer trouvent dans ces pièces toujours un peu fiévreuses et malades un terrain d'élection. Comment peut-on être aussi volcanique et aussi contrôlé ? Et dans ces épanchements brûlants, garder le poignet aussi libre ? Mystère... »

Le Nouvel Observateur, 20 avril 2006, Jacques Drillon

lemonde
rec
« On sera convaincu de l'investissement exceptionnel de la ligne, ici, dès la première mesure de l'Opus 2 n°1. Lydia lardon a un son bien à elle, d'une générosité et d'un lyrisme assez exceptionnels. Elle « électrifie » chaque note, en fait une forte voix humaine au point que le lyrisme se déploie partout, sauf peut-être là où on l'attend puisque, avec un tel investissement expressif de chaque note, le traditionnel climax paraît fatalement moins « investi ». C'est ainsi que dans la célèbre Etude op. 42 n°5, le début, joué par d'autres de façon relativement discrète, est ici sous-tendu par cette « voix appuyée ». Quand le thème culminant vient enfin, Lydia Jardon en fait quelque ritournelle, certes sentimentale, mais sotto voce, dans un lyrisme en sourdine, comme issu du passé, souvenir poignant mais déjà étouffé. Les détachés ne sont peut-être pas toujours d'une clarté maximale, mais ce n'est pas le propos ici. Quand la pièce demande un contrepoint plus staccato, ce dernier devient étrangeté vocale errante, comme dans l'Opus 42 n°3. Il est heureux que la pianiste ait pu conserver un jeu aussi passionné et naturel, loin des habituelles domestications. »

Le Monde de la Musique, Mai 2006, Jacques Amblard